The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan

The Demon’s Lexicon
by Sarah Rees Brennan
ISBN-13: 9-781416-963790
Rating: 5 ♥ / 5 ♥

Nick and his brother, Alan, have spent their lives on the run from magic. Their father was murdered, and their mother was driven mad by magicians and the demons who give them power. The magicians are hunting the Ryves family for a charm that Nick’s mother stole – a charm that keeps her alive – and they want it badly enough to kill again.

Danger draws even closer when a brother and sister come to the Ryves family for help. The boy wears a demon’s mark, a sign of death that almost nothing can erase…and when Alan also gets marked by a demon, Nick is desperate to save him. The only way to do that is to kill one of the magicians they have been hiding from for so long.

Ensnared in a deadly game of cat and mouse, Nick starts to suspect that his brother is telling him lie after lie about their past. As the magicians’ Circle closes in on their family, Nick uncovers the secret that could destroy them all.

This is the Demon’s Lexicon. Turn the page.

 

I’ve finally gotten around to writing this review of The Demon’s Lexicon, a book that should have had one of the first reviews on this blog! With The Demon’s Covenant coming out soon, I figured I’d better get a move on and post this sooner rather than later.

I had known of Sarah before her book was released. I was already a huge fan of her writing style and knew that I would just love her first published novel – at least, I hoped I would. The day finally arrived, and I purchased The Demon’s Lexicon immediately. It took me very little time to read it, and I was right; I loved it.

Sarah has such an engaging style of writing. She’s able to write serious and completely hilarious with ease. I was drawn in and taken away by her discriptions and characters. Nick (whose POV we get) and Alan are half-brothers. There father is dead and they – mostly Alan – look after their insane mother. Alan is the serious, warm and loving brother. Nick, the mysterious, handsome, brooding and silent one. Both are kick-ass in their own ways. Before long, Mae and her brother Jamie arrive on the scene, needing the brother’s help. Mae is full of fire and passion, and care for her brother. Jamie is quieter, but brave. There is just so much intrigue to each of them, and the world building that Sarah did is just amazing. Although everything seems like the modern day UK, until the swords, magic, goblin market and demons come into play.

The plot was paced really well. Just when I thought I’d get to a good point to set the book down and, oh I don’t know, eat/sleep/go to work, there was just more. There is also a HUGE revelation at the end of the book, one that the reader begins to guess at but doesn’t really think is true (it can’t be true!). It was completely awesome. Sarah ties up the plot of the first book nicely, but leaves enough loose ties and potential for the release of the second book to seem AGES away (and it was/is!).

I only quote from books in a review rarely, but I felt the need to leave you with one. When I pick up a book in the store, I don’t only read the blurb but the first paragraph – it has to grab me. The first two sentences in The Demon’s Lexicon are made of so much win I was immediately hooked (not that I wasn’t going to read anyway, but it was a plus!):

The pipe under the sink was leaking again. It wouldn’t have been so bad, except that Nick kept his favorite sword under the sink.

 

 

Read-a-thon Day 6: Top 6 Books


Today, besides being day 6 of the Clear Away the Clutter Read-a-thon hosted by Kate @ The Neverending Shelf, is also Dewey’s Read-a-thon. While I’m not taking place in the latter, I’ve decided to spend the rest of my day reading anyway, to help out with the former.

So far, my plan is going good. I’m about a third of the way through The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod: Tenth Grade Bleeds by Heather Brewer, and I’ve started In The Dead of Night by John Marsden. I’ve added 2 of my un-read graphic novels and Numbers by Rachel Ward to my pile, too. Also, a (long time in coming) review of The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan will be posted later on today. On to the day 6 activity!

 

Activity: Top 6 Books That Blew Me Away So Far In 2010
Host: Eleni @ La Femme Readers

Goal:

You must post on your blog your top six books that blew you away this year. They don’t have to be 2010 releases, they could of came out in other years, as long as you read it in 2010.

 
My Top 6 (in no particular order)
 

The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting
Eternal by Cynthia Leitich Smith
 

The Dead-Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan
Break by Hannah Mozkowitz
 

Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan
Bleeding Violet by Dia Reeves