A Porcupine in a Pine Tree by Helaine Becker + a giveaway

A Porcupine in a Pine Tree: A Canadian 12 Days of Christmas
by Helaine Becker & Werner Zimmermann
ISBN-13: 9-780545-986632
Rating: 5 ♥ / 5 ♥ – I loved it!

Celebrate Christmas Canadian-style with this hilarious adaptation of “The Twelve Days of Christmas.” You’ll find squirrels curling, puffins piping, hockey players a-leaping and more.

Helaine Becker and Werner Zimmermann turn the Christmas carol on its head, with a totally Canadian cast of characters wildly romping through the pages. A new holiday classic is born!

When I first picked this book up at my practicum school’s Scholastic book fair, I was immediately hooked. I loved the big full page illustrations, and the replacement items for the Twelve Days of Christmas were wonderfully Canadian.

I quite enjoy day three – three beaver tails! Now, although the illustration shows three beavers wrapped up in a ribbon, I like to think of the beaver tails as the extremely yummy pastry we can buy in the summertime down by the waterfront. A light pastry, I always get mine covered in cinnamon and sugar. Sometimes apples with frosting get added to that. Anyway, they are VERY good.

And then we have five Stanley Cups! Now, I think the illustrator must know his hockey, because later on at ten Leafs a-leaping, the Toronto Maple Leafs are trying to get those Stanley Cups in their hands. But they cannot. And for the next two days, they cannot get those cups despite how hard they reach. And even in the end, when everyone is decorating the pine tree, they STILL cannot get the Stanley Cups. Oh dear. That’s the Toronto Maple Leafs for you (and I can say this, because I’m a fan).

Down at the bottom of the page, you can see our Mounties munching donuts! While I think that’s a bit stereotypical, the kids find it hilariously funny (especially when the sled dogs steal the donuts and take off). My grade twos loved when I read this book to them, they could not stop laughing. Heck, I couldn’t stop laughing! This is a wonderful Christmas book, and I thank Scholastic for including it in their book fair!

GIVEAWAY
I’ll be giving away one copy of A Porcupine in a Pine Tree.
Open to Canada and US only.
Comment with an e-mail address to be entered.
1 extra entry if you’d like to spread the word somehow and leave me a link in your comment.
Contest closes December 31st at 11:59pm EST.