Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Catching Fire Catching Fire
by Suzanne Collins
ISBN – 13: 9-780439-023498
Rating: 5 ♥ / 5 ♥

Against all odds, Katniss has won the Hunger Games. She and fellow District 12 tribute Peeta Mellark are miraculously still alive. Katniss should be relieved, happy even. After all, she has returned to her family and her longtime friend, Gale. Yet nothing is the way Katniss wishes it to be. Gale holds her at an icy distance. Peeta has turned his back on her completely. And there are whispers of a rebellion against the Capitol – a rebellion that Katniss and Peeta may have helped create.

Much to her shock, Katniss has fueled an unrest she’s afraid she cannot stop. And what scares her even more is that she’s not entirely convinced she should try. As time draws near for Katniss and Peeta to visit the districts on the Capitol’s cruel Victory Tour, the stakes are higher than ever. If they can’t prove, without a shadow of a doubt, that they are lost in their love for each other, he consequences will be horrifying.

 

In this sequel to The Hunger Games, Suzanne Collins has outdone herself. I was kept guessing at every turn, although there were some lovely little hints and glimpses into what was coming that I still felt involved in the story. By the time I reached part 3 of the book, I had already been in tears once, due to a combination of sadness and anger at the government presented in this book.

Catching Fire gave me so much more insight into Katniss’ character, and we get to see more of Peeta and Haymitch – including how he won his Hunger Games – and even some backstory for Katniss’ mother and Katniss’ friend Madge’s family. The only character I still feel I really don’t know if Gale! And frankly that’s not good, since he’s supposed to be such a major player in Katniss’ life. I’m hoping that he’ll be featured much more prominantly in book 3, especially after the ending of this book.

Plotwise, I loved it. The Victory Tour was showcased perfectly, in my opinion, and the twist around the 75th Hunger Games had me gasping, and the resulting action was amazing. I felt the plot moved at a fast paced and I never felt bored with what was going on. There was also enough loose ends, and a crazy cliffhanger, to make me want to the third book now, please. Catching Fire definitely did not dissapoint, and I hope the rest of the series stays just as strong as these first two books have been.

heart 5

 

This book is also part of the dystopYA challenges hosted by Bart’s Bookshelf and Books on the Nightstand.

2 thoughts on “Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Comments are closed.