Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

Shiver
by Maggie Stiefvater
ISBN – 13: 9-780545-123266
Rating: 5 ♥ / 5 ♥

The Cold
Grace has spent years watching the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf – her wolf – watches back. He feels deeply familiar to her, but she doesn’t know why.

The Heat.
Sam has lived two lives. As a wolf, he keeps the silent company of the girl he loves. And then, for a short time each year, he is human, never daring to talk to Grace…until now.

The Shiver.
For Grace and Sam, love has alays been kept at a distance. But once it’s spoken, it cannot be denied. Sam must fight to stay human – and Grace must fight to keep him – even if it means taking on the scars of the past, the fragility of the present, and the impossibility of the future.

 

I am so glad I picked this book up on a whim. I had heard very little about it (just basic, “this book is good, read it!” type stuff) but I absolutely loved the cover, so I found myself buying it on a random trip to the bookstore one day.

Basically: this book is good, read it!

Grace and Sam sort of remind me of Romeo and Juliet – without all the death at the end. There are no families keeping them apart, either, just Sam’s penchant for turning into a wolf when it’s cold outside. So not really like Romeo and Juliet, but I’m sure you know what I mean. It’s taken Sam and Grace six years to properly meet, and once they do there is a whirlwind of activity and mystery – and love. Now that Sam has actually talked to Grace, he wants to stay human at all costs – and Grace doesn’t want to let Sam go. They are constantly battling the encroaching winter cold, hoping to find a cure, and trying to figure out what Jack – presumed dead, but newly made werewolf – wants with Grace’s friend Olivia.

Shiver is told through the view points of both Grace and Sam; each chapter is labeled to tell you who’s head you’re inside. I have to admit, the times the story was being told by Sam were some of my favourites. I don’t know if this is because I really enjoyed Maggie Stiefvater’s writing style, and her voice for Sam was just that little bit more unique, or if I just liked reading the story from the perspective of the person who actually changes into the wolf.

The one aspect of this book that would have kept me from enjoying it – if they change in the cold, why don’t they move to Florida, or Texas – is actually answered on page 268. Thank God for authors who remember the details! Such little things can ruin books for me, and Shiver is entirely too wonderful to be ruined by the nitty-gritty details. The next book, Linger is due out in July, and while I’m excited to read it, I almost wish Shiver was a stand-alone. When I closed the book last night, I had one of those soft smiles on my face – you know, the ones you get when you’re happy and content with what you’ve just read and how everything turned out? That smile. And I don’t know if I really want to read more (but of course I will). Shiver was more than I was expecting, and I think it’s definitely worth the read!

5 thoughts on “Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Pingback: Amazing contest for Linger by Maggie Stiefvater « escape through the pages

Comments are closed.