Fallen by Lauren Kate

Fallen
by Lauren Kate
ISBN – 13: 9-780385-738934
Rating: 5 ♥ / 5 ♥

There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at Sword & Cross boarding school in Savannah. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Except Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce – he goes out of his way to make that very clear. But she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, Luce has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret…even if it kills her.

 

Sword & Cross is not just a boarding school, it’s a reform school. Luce has been sent there after a horrible accident at her old boarding school. Once there, she encounters Daniel Grigori – and is immediately hooked. Feeling as if she has met him somewhere before, Luce and her friend Penn set out to find out everything they can about Daniel’s background. Meanwhile, Luce has to contend with the seductive Cam, a fire, and the hot and cold attention of Daniel. Oh, and those mysterious shadows Luce has been seeing all her life? They’re still around.

I absolutely loved this book. Fallen contains the kind of plot-line that draws me in so completely, and makes me want to know everything, right away. Thankfully, the next book comes out next Fall (though earlier would be nice). Fallen starts off with a “flashback” chapter that sets up the story perfectly – as soon as we meet Luce and Daniel, we realize they have something to do with that first chapter. I was constantly guessing at plot details while I was reading. Yes, it’s easy to figure out the main plot from the first chapter and the references to the bible and angels, but the details? The exact whys, hows, whens and whats are a mystery. One that we only get brief explanations of, since the main character can’t know everything right away, after all. She’d have nothing to find out in the next book!

Luce was really the only character that is explored to any kind of depth, even though the book is not told in first person. Through most of it, I was sure that Penn had some kind of ulterior motive and that Arianne was the normal one (but knew something was up), when really, it was the opposite. Maybe that’s the way it was supposed to be, to throw us off the scent, and if so – well done. Daniel and Cam were explored to an extent, but once I closed that back cover, I still felt as though I didn’t really know them. I’m positive that’s the way it was supposed to be, since more of their story will no doubt show up in book two. Still, it would have been nice to find out some more of what makes these two boys fighting over Luce tick.

I was perfectly happy with the pacing of the book, and with the rate (and how) information was revealed to us, even though I wanted more of it, and with Lauren Kate’s writing style. I will definitely be purchasing the sequel, and I think I may have found another author to add to my “automatic buy” list. I feel safe in recommending Fallen to anyone who likes a bit of the fantastical in their books.

 

2 thoughts on “Fallen by Lauren Kate

  1. P.S. Cant wait for the sequel for it! Also to begin Your other book!!!! Oh im 14 and I dont usualy read a lot but I really want to read this Book!

Comments are closed.