Eternal by Cynthia Leitich Smith

Eternal
by Cynthia Leitich Smith
ISBN-13: 9-780763-647735
Rating: 5 ♥ / 5 ♥

Elevated and adopted by none other than the reigning King of the Mantle of Dracul, Miranda goes from high-schoo theater wannabe to glamorous royal fiend overnight. Meanwhile, her reckless and adoring guardian angel, Zachary – fighting in human guise as the princess’s personal assistant – has his work cut out for him with the Master’s Death Day gala fast approaching. Can Zachary save his girl’s soul and redeem himself before all hell arrives, quite literally, on their doorstep?

 

I was quite impressed with Eternal. It was a dark, intriguing atory about falling from grace and redemption. I finished the book and immediately wished for more.

Eternal alternates between two POVs – Zachary and Miranda. Even though each chapter is titled with the name of the character who is currently ‘speaking’, so you don’t get mixed up, I wouldn’t have needed it. I found it easy to distinguish between Miranda’s and Zachary’s voices. Each of them had their own distinct personality and style of thought, and I really enjoyed getting to see events from both their perspectives.

I loved Cynthia Leitich Smith’s style of writing. It dragged me in and made me want to keep reading. She was able to give voice to her characters and her descriptions were precise and informative, while managing to convey numerous emotions at the same time. She managed to surprise me at the end of the book, with a revelation I didn’t see coming (but should have).

I don’t want to spoil anything, but I do want to mention that I felt somethign Miranda does at the end of the book seemed to go too smoothly, too easily. the action bounced around a bit, so I may have missed some indication of time or what have you, but still. Also, I feel I should warn that this book has a very ambiguous happy ending. I percieved it as happy yet still sad. It’s kind of one of those endings where you’re glad everything turned out well, but sad because it’s not the perfect ending you wished for the characters. It was perfect for this book, though.

 

3 thoughts on “Eternal by Cynthia Leitich Smith

  1. Pingback: Read-a-thon Day 6: Top 6 Books « escape through the pages

Comments are closed.