Day 4 of the Read-a-thon

Day 4 is shaping up to be pretty good! I’ve finished 2 of my graphic novels and The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting. I’ve got some reviews written up and ready for posting, so I’ll start doing that tomorrow morning. I’m thinking one a day for the next few days. My next attempt for the read-a-thon is to start and finish The Dead of Night by John Marsden and two more of my graphic novels. I should have them all finished soon if I continue on the track I have been. But, right now, it’s time for the day 4 activity.

 

Activity: Clear Out the Pack Rat Mentality
Host: The Kirks @ Teens Read and Write

Goal:

1.) Is there at least one book on your growing TBR that has been there forever and (if you were honest) you could give up without to much trauma?

2.) What is your latest “Gotta Have It” book? (that you can get once you’ve given up that one in question #1)

3.) What are your classics – you’re ‘comfort books’ that you never want to give up?

4.) What are your best tips for keeping that TBR in check?

 

1. Love Walked In by Marisa de los Santos. If we’re being honest, I’ll probably never read it. I bought it back in August of 2008 when I was working down at a summer camp in Connecticut. We’d been having a lot of rainy days and I was speeding through books like crazy (I read 14 in 7 weeks). On one of my days off they bussed us out to a mall with a bookstore, and I bought about five books. I got around to reading all of them, except this one, by the time camp ended. Once I got home, I just had so many other books on my shelves to read, Love walked In got shelved and hasn’t moved since. With such a huge TBR pile and new books coming out weekly that I want to read, I don’t think I’ll ever get around to it (although I still think it sounds like an amazing story).

2. I am SO anxious to buy This World We Live In by Susan Beth Pfeffer. Truthfully, if my local bookstores had it in stock I’d have it already. Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately considering the state of my TBRs), NONE of them have it. I’d have to order it in, and with so many books waiting to be read, I can’t make myself order another one. It be different if it was staring me in the face each time I walked into a bookstore, but I guess the saying “out of sight, out of mind” kind of works here. It’s not out of my mind, but it is being pushed to the side for the time being (but I want it sooo bad).

3. There are quite a few books I could never give up! Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson and Awake and Dreaming by Kit Pearson are NEVER leaving my house; not least of all because the covers I have are no longer in print (and I love them to death). Harry Potter by JK Rowling is definitely a keeper (I’ve read books 1 to 5 about 10 times each), as are my Tamora Pierce and Christopher Pike books. The Giver by Lois Lowry, the Young Wizard series by Diane Duane, The Enchanted Forest Chronicles by Patricia C. Wrede and the Ender’s Game series by Orson Scott Card always have a home with me. There are probably a bunch of others, but these are the most important.

4. I really don’t have any tips for keeping the TBR pile in check…mine’s run away from me! I guess to just read more than you buy in a week. Also prioritize the books you have. If you know that you have some books you want to read more than others, push them to the front and get them out of the way. I always keep a “purse book”. This book is one I want to read, but isn’t a desperate need. I can afford to take my time with it while I read others at the same time. My final tip? Avoid the bookstore and amazon/indigo/book depository. You can’t buy if you’re not there, right? 😉

 
One thought on “Day 4 of the Read-a-thon

  1. Pingback: Clear Away the Clutter Read-a-thon Wrap-up « escape through the pages

Comments are closed.