I Heart You, You Haunt Me by Lisa Schroeder

I Heart You, You Haunt Me
by Lisa Schroeder
ISBN-13: 9-781416-955207
Rating: 5 ♥ / 5 ♥

Girl meets boy. Girl loses boy. Girl gets boy back…sort of.

Ava can’t see or touch him,
unless she’s dreaming.
She can’t hear his voice,
escept for the faint whispers in her mind.
Most would think she’s crazy, but she knows he’s here.

Jackson.
The boy Ava thought she’d spend the rest of her life with.
He’s back from the dead,
as proof that love truly knows no bounds.

 

I Heart You, You Haunt Me is a haunting tale of love, loss, grief and learning to live again.

Ava’s boyfriend has just died, and she’s heartbroken. Soon, she’s having vivid dreams of Jackson. She feels him, and can almost hear him while she’s awake. He turns on music, opens and closes doors, writes on her mirror. But Jackson is only with Ava when she’s at home, and Ava wants to stay with Jackson.

The novel is written completely in verse, which adds a level of depth and beauty to the story of Ava and Jackson. As the story progresses, it becomes unclear whether Jacksons prescence is real, as Ava believes, or just the way her grief has chosen to manifest itself. Near the end is a large revelation about the possible reason that Ava has such profound grief over Jackson’s death, outside of the fact that she loved him. It was heartwrenching.

As a person who has lost someone very close to them, I was incredibly impressed with Lisa Schroeder’s depiction of how one deals with such an abrupt loss of a loved one. It was very easy to sympathize with Ava and connect with her (and I believe it would be so for anyone who hasn’t lost someone, too). The writing was just beautiful, the story bittersweet and compelling. I’d never read a book written in verse before this one, but I definitely won’t shy away from them now!

 

 
One thought on “I Heart You, You Haunt Me by Lisa Schroeder

  1. What an amazing book. I shed a lot of tears while reading this book. *sigh* I love books written in verse. Have you read any of Lisa’s other books? They’re great! If you haven’t read them I suggest you do!

Comments are closed.