The Fallen by Thomas E. Sniegoski

The Fallen
by Thomas E. Sniegoski
ISBN-13: 9-781442-408623
Rating: 4.5 ♥ / 5 ♥

Aaron Corbet isn’t a bad kid – he’s just a little different.

On the eve of his eighteenth birthday, Aaron dreams of a darkly violent landscape. He can hear the sounds of weapons clanging, the screams of the stricken, and another sound he cannot quite decipher. But gazing upward at the sky, he suddenly understands. It is the sound of great wings, angels’ wings, beating the air unmercifully as hundreds of armored warriors descend on the battlefield.

Orphaned since birth, Aaron is suddenly discovering newfound – and sometimes supernatural – talents. But it’s not until he is approached by two men that he learns the truth about his destiny, and his role as a liaison between angels, mortals, and Powers both good and evil, some of whom are hell-bent on his destruction…

 

Aaron has led a fairly normal life up until his eighteenth birthday. He’s got great foster parents, a little brother and the girl at school he likes just might like him back. Everything changes when his birthday hits and he can suddenly understand any language like it’s English – including his dog Gabriel! After that, Aaron is swept up in prophecies, angels and a heritage he doesn’t want.

I’ve been on a bit of an angel kick lately, saw when I saw this in the bookstore I just had to pick it up. And I am SO glad I did. Aaron is such a great character – he loves his foster family, does good in school, works at a local veterinary clinic…he’s normal. Except when he isn’t. I really connected with Aaron and the trials he has to face. The story really revolves around Aaron and his journey. Yes, there’s a potential love interest, but it’s realistic and not the overall point of the book.

The plot moves along wonderfully, and there’s some great action sprinkled throughout. The angel mythology is done really well, especially the reasons for the fallen angels. I absolutely disliked Verchiel, the angel in charge of hunting down Aaron. I just wanted to shake some sense into him, to make him stop and see reason, to listen to Aaron and the fallen angels. The plot for the first book was wrapped up nicely, with just enough problems left unresolved to make me glad I bought the two-in-one version of the book – I have the second book already here and ready to read. I highly recommend this book for anyone who wants to read about angels as main characters, not secondary ones. It’s a wildly entertaining, dark yet hopeful read.

 

 
4 thoughts on “The Fallen by Thomas E. Sniegoski

    • It really was nice. I think that normalness is what makes the supernatural elements so much more surreal, which really gives quite an impact to the story.

  1. You wouldn’t happen to have this authors e-mail address would you? I really want to thank him on his representation of Autism… (I have an autistic sister so I was glad to see how well he represented it.) If you happen to could you please e-mail it to this e-mail address?

    flute.danae@gmail.com

    Thanks ^^

Comments are closed.