Once Upon A Week + Giveaway

Welcome to Once Upon A Week, hosted by Vanessa @ Today’s Adventure. Once Upon A Week is a week long event in which bloggers review fairy tales and fairy tale retellings, and discuss just why we love them so much.

This year we’re having a group read of Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce and a discussion, so stay tuned for that coming up on August 5 (Thursday). Vanessa will also be highlighting the bloggers taking part in Once Upon A Week over on her blog. Today’s post, featuring Mariah @ A Reader’s Adventure, Britt @ Confessions of a Book Habitue and me, is here.

In spirit of the week, I thought it would be nice to have a fairy tale themed giveaway!

One (1) winner will have their pick of book:

or
Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce
Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George

Contest is international. Open to anyone The Book Depository ships to.
Contest ends at 11:49 pm EST on August 7.

Rules
– must be 13 years of age or older to enter
– only 1 entry per person
– comment with your favourite fairy tale
– then fill out the form

– for a possible 3 extra entries, come back on August 5, 6 or 7 to fill out this form

36 thoughts on “Once Upon A Week + Giveaway

  1. I can’t decide! Seriously… I think my favorite fairy tale right now would be The Little Mermaid, but that’s only because I’m writing a story about it. But fairy tales are all pretty awesome. Maybe East of the Sun, West of the Moon? (Of the non-writer-associated tales.)

  2. My favorite fairy tale has always been Sleeping Beauty. It is just such a love conquers all kind of a story. I also love the fact that the prince was willing to slay a dragon for his lady love.

  3. Oooh great contest idea. My favourite traditional fairytale is Cinderella, but I love it when authors twist up tradition (eg Dianne Wynne-Jones’ HOWLS MOVING CASTLE) to create something unique.

  4. I love most all fairy tales. I think my favorite would be Cinderella. I just read a re-telling and it made me like it more.

  5. Wow… just one?

    Man that’s rough. I love so many despite a lack of really strong female characters. (I wish there was at least one story that had a female making choices and moving the story with those choices (probably a sign of the times) instead of being cursed or almost molested or something else completely out of her hands.

    Current favorite is “The White Deer”.

  6. I love fairy tales and my favorite one always seems to be changing. Lately I’ve been watching and reading all sorts of Cinderella type tales. 🙂

  7. My favorite Fairy Tale is: Aladin…

    Who doesn’t like Gynies with 3 magic wishes, a princess with a pet Tiger, and a poor boy falls in love with a rich princess.

  8. Ooo.. fun giveaway! Two totally fantastic books! I’ve read them both, though, so I won’t enter.

    My favorite fairy tale is certainly Beauty and the Beast.

  9. I have a lovely book called Old Swedish Fairy Tales, and the story of the Glassblower is my favorite of them! I re-read it more than any other fairy tale.

  10. Oooh, thank you for this giveaway 😀

    My favorite fairy tale is Aladdin. I like it because it’s different from the others. The guy isn’t a prince and the girl wants to see the world, not be swept off her feet.

  11. Pingback: Once Upon A Week Wrap Up Party | Escape Through the Pages

Comments are closed.