Guest Post: Author Kersten Hamilton

Today I’d like to welcome author Kersten Hamilton to my blog! Kersten’s latest book, Tyger, Tyger is to be published November 15, 2010 by Clarion (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt).

Thank you for having me on your blog to talk about my book, Cait!

One of my writer friends described Tyger Tyger as, “a fast-paced adventure with a backbone of Celtic myth and heart of romance.” I love that description, but I’m very aware that it is the ‘backbone of Celtic myth’ which gives the adventure form and the romance a distinct voice.

At one point in the Lord of the Rings Galadriel, describing the journey of the ring through time, says: “History became legend. Legend became myth…

That’s exactly what I wanted to do in Tyger Tyger —start with myth and end in the modern day, using existing stories and historical characters. It was like tracing the path of a lightning bolt!

I searched Celtic myth for the stories with enough power to reach through time, then worked my way forward through legend, then history, and finally into our present day where science and technology come into play, each time seeking out the most logical story path, the clearest connections. Sometimes it worked so well that I’m convinced that it really happened that way…:)

I hope your readers enjoy Tyger Tyger, and feel the same electric connection that I found with our distant past…

🙂 Kersten Hamilton

My review of Tyger, Tyger
Kersten Hamilton
website | Goodreads

Buy Tyger, Tyger
indigo.ca (Canada) | Book Depository (international) | borders.com (United States)

The Tyger, Tyger tour has been arranged by Novel Noise. Clicking the link will take you to the tour’s page, where you can find a list of all participating blogs.

3 thoughts on “Guest Post: Author Kersten Hamilton

  1. Pingback: Guest Post: Kersten Hamilton « April Nichole's Blog

Comments are closed.