I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

I Am Number Four
by Pittacus Lore
ISBN-13: 9-780061-969553
Rating: 3.5 ♥ / 5 ♥ – I liked it

Nine of us came here. We look like you. We talk like you. We live among you. But we are not you. We can do things you dream of doing. We have powers you dream of having. We are stronger and faster than anything you have ever seen. We are the superheroes you worship in movies and comic books – but we are real.

Our plan was to grow, and train, and become strong, and become one, and fight them. But they found us and started hunting us first. Now all of us are running. Spending out lives in shadows, in places where no one would look, blending in. We have lived among you without you knowing.

But they know.

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They killed them all.

I am Number Four.

I am next.

In the midst of a vampire, werewolf and angel paranormal takeover, a story about aliens is refreshing and fun.

John Smith is Number Four – a teenage alien hiding out on Earth. One of nine, he and the others (and their guardians) are the last survivors of their planet. They are scattered across Earth, constantly moving and avoiding the aliens (Mogadorians) that killed their race. John and his guardian Henri end up staying in one place a little too long, and the Mogadorians catch up to him.

I Am Number Four had some great action scenes, and I loved the whole premise. The lore behind John’s race (Lorien) and the fight with the Mogadorians is rich and well-detailed. John and Henri are great characters, too. The story is told from John’s point of view, so we really get to dive into his personality and his feelings about the situation he’s in. John is pretty determined; he works hard at learning what he needs to to survive, but he’s also a teenager. He’s tired of moving around and once a girl comes into the picture, he loses track of things a little bit. Henri, his guardian, is the rock. Calm and steady, Henri takes care of business and makes sure John doesn’t die.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t a huge fan of the writing style. It seems a little simple at points, and uses a lot of shorter, to the point, almost abrupt sentences (something I don’t generally enjoy. I like the story to flow well, and to not feel like I’m stopping and starting at punctuation). The early parts of the book moved a little slowly, as well. There was a lot of background information and build up to the amazing action in the last quarter of the novel. It’s all worth it, though. If you can make it to the point the Mogadorian’s show up, everything sucks you in and you’re hooked until the closing paragraph. The sequels should be amazing.

In the end, I Am Number Four is an entertaining, interesting read, and I’m betting it makes an awesome movie =)

I Am Number Four is part of the 2010 Debut Author Challenge

One thought on “I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

  1. Seriously, this a first time there’s some teaser mentioning on my country (Malaysia). LOL. I ‘m looking forward to read this! Thanks for honest review!

Comments are closed.