Upcoming event: Banned Books Week

It’s about that time of year again, when ALA (American Library Association) hosts their annual Banned Books Week. You can check out the official website here. Last year, I dedicated the entire week to banned/challenged books here on the blog. I figured I’d do the same thing again this year, and I’ve got a pretty fun line up of posts. I’ll be looking in depth at a few banned/challenged books that I’ve read and loved, as well as reading two new ones. This year, I also have a few guest posts lined up that I’m very excited for!

Saturday Sept 25:
Intro to Banned Books Week
Sept 26:
overview of the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer
Sept 27:
overview of The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things by Carolyn Mackler
guest post by author Kathleen Peacock
Sept 28:
overview of And Tango Makes Three by Peter Parnell and Justin Richardson
Sept 29:
discussion on banned/challenged books
guest post by Colleen @ Lavender Lines
Sept 30:
overview of The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier
Oct 1:
overview of My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Piccoult
Oct 2:
Banned Books Week closing post

I find the whole idea of banning/challenging books to be a crazy one. Who is to say what someone should or should not read? Just because one person disapproves of a book’s subject matter does not mean that the work should be kept from everyone else. I quite enjoy my freedom to read what I like, thanks.

Hopefully you’ll all join me in bringing awareness to such an important issue, and if anyone would like to participate through a guest post, please let me know: xkamsx[@]gmail.com
The subject can be anything you like, as long as it revolves around banning/challenging books.

Also, Steph @ Steph Su reads has a banned books challenge going on from now until October 15th. If you have some free reading time on your hands, definitely check it out!
(I’ll be reading The Chocolate War and The Earth, My Butt and Other Big Round Things)

5 thoughts on “Upcoming event: Banned Books Week

  1. Sounds like you have great plans. I’m looking forward to the Twilight overview. I’m also interested in the Robert Cormier post. I had to read I Am the Cheese in 7th grade. It disturbed me so much that I never picked up another Cormier book. I don’t think any of his books should be banned, but that particular book sure depressed me.

  2. Looks like quite the month! I’m hoping to read The Chocolate War as well (it has been sitting patiently on my shelf for far too long!).

Comments are closed.