The Secret of Ka by Christopher Pike

The Secret of Ka
by Christopher Pike
ISBN-13: 9-780547-342474
Rating: 4 ♥ / 5 ♥ – I really liked it

One minute Sara’s bored out of her mind on vacation in Istanbul. The next, she’s unearthed a flying carpet that cleverly drags her to the mysterious Island of the Djinn – or genies. By her side is Amesh, a hot boy she has a crush on but doesn’t yet trust. When Amesh learns the secret of invoking djinn, he loses control. He swears he’ll call upon only one djinn and make only one wish. The plan sounds safe enough…

But neither Sara nor Amesh is any match for the monster that swells before them. It quickly hypnotizes Amesh, compelling him to steal Sara’s flying carpet and leave her stranded on the island.

Discovering the carpet has sparked a new path for Sara, one that will lead her to battle creatures even deadlier than djinn. In this fight, Sara can save mankind, herself, or the boy she cares for. Who will she be forced to sacrifice?

I’ve had a love for Christopher Pike books ever since I picked up Monster back in 1999. So of course I had to read this one.

I found The Secret of Ka to be fairly different from other Pike books. With the idea of genies and magic carpets, it’s much more fantasy than horror/thriller; but I liked it just as much. Sara’s a pretty interesting character. At first, I wasn’t quite sure what to think of her. She’s this headstrong, get what she wants type girl, who’s a tiny bit bratty. As the story progresses and Sara comes into posession of the Carpet of Ka, her entire character begins to change. She realizes there are bigger forces at work in the universe than she ever thought, and she has a destiny that she isn’t sure she wants. Her whole life gets flipped upside down and inside out, and she handles it about as well as can be expected. But Amesh. I did not like him, at all. He did nothing but cause Sara trouble, and yet she loves him and gives him more than enough second chances. Yes, I can see that he had a difficult life and of course he wants revenge. But to be so weak as to let that overpower everything to the point that you put everyone in danger? Nu-uh, no thank you. Hopefully his character gets explored more in any sequels that might pop up and help redeem him to me.

Once I got involved in the story, I couldn’t put it down. Pike’s writing style has always dragged me in and kept me captivated, and The Secret of Ka is no exception. But it was when I reached the end of the book, and talk of time travel and other worlds appeared that I smiled in satisfaction. Very reminiscent of the Starlight Crystal, the end of the book is when things start really getting good, and of course Pike leaves us wanting more. With more questions than explanations, I was at once both satisfied and crying for more explanation. I’m highly looking forward to any sequels, and my love of Christopher Pike books has in no way diminished – just been reinforced.

Thank you to Houghton Mifflin Harcourt at NetGalley for providing me the eGalley of The Secret of Ka for review.

One thought on “The Secret of Ka by Christopher Pike

  1. I LOVE the cover of this book, but I am not a Christopher Pike fan. Actually, it’s more that I’m not a horror fan. Since this book is more fantasy-ish, I’d probably enjoy it. Great review!

Comments are closed.