Dystopia Challenge

Bart’s Bookshelf is once again hosting the YA Dystopian Reading Challenge. I participated last year, and finished all three books I had planned on reading. This year, he’s seperated things into levels, and I picked level two – read 2 to 4 novels between October 1 and December 19, 2010. Since I read three books last year, I figured I’d read four books this time around.

This is my tentative list:
1. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
2. The Enemy by Charlie Higson
3. Hunger by Michael Grant
4. NoMANsland by Lesley Hauge

I own each book on my list, so not only does this challenge let me read find some great dystopian books (through other participants), but lets me knock a few off of my TBR list. Who knows, if I have the time, I might even get a fifth book in there and reach level three!

Want to participate? Go sign up!

4 thoughts on “Dystopia Challenge

  1. Heh, I’m reading the final book in Ness’ trilogy and the first in the Grant series for this challenge!

  2. I did not really like The Knife of Never Letting Go but everyone else I know did. I do want to read more in the series though. It isn’t really MY type of dystopia though I am becoming more tolerant to it since it is fairly inevitable in a lot of stories that I read. I don’t really like survival type stories because I am more interested in the WORLD when I read dystopia than the characters. I mean, of course they are important, but when the story is about survival it is piled on the back of the character and loses some of the unique feel (for me) that dystopian fiction brings to the table. Let me know what you think about it when you read it.

Comments are closed.