Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Mockingjay
by Suzanne Collins
ISBN-13: 9-780439-023511
Rating: 3.5 – 4 ♥ / 5 ♥ – I mostly really liked it
SPOILER FREE

My name is Katniss Everdeen. Why am I not dead? I should be dead.

Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss’s family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 really does exist. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding.

It is by design that Katniss was rescued from the arena in the cruel and haunting Quarter Quell, and it is by design that she has long been part of the revolution without knowing it. District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol. Everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plans — except Katniss.

The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss’s willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels’ Mockingjay — no matter what the personal cost.

It’s taken me a long while to write this review; I’m still divided on my feelings for this book, but I just couldn’t think about it anymore. This review won’t be long – I don’t want to give away any spoilers – but it will hopefully get my thoughts across.

I loved The Hunger Games and Catching Fire. The idea of the games, the thought that went into the characters and Panem, Katniss, Peeta and Gale, the despair that was present in the districts, but also the hope that a series like this always has lingering in the background – the hope that things will get better for the characters after their trials are done. Mockingjay was one of my most anticipated books of 2010, and I’m so torn (thus the ambiguous rating).

On the one hand, it appealed to every part of me that loves an epic, destructive battle that has little hope of a happy ending, but on the other hand it was a slightly disappointing end to the trilogy – mostly because it wasn’t quite what I was expecting. Still, there were parts that had me almost in tears and parts that had me cheering for Katniss and the rebels. Some of the story was a bit slow, and at other times it was a bit rushed. I would have liked some more background into district thirteen and Coin, and more interaction with President Snow and the Capitol. I loved Katniss, still. I really enjoyed the fight scenes, and the depth of emotion that Suzanne Collins puts into her writing. As for Team Gale and Team Peeta, I’ve never had much to say on that and I still don’t. It was obvious to me who I thought it would be, and who I wanted it to be, so I’m happy. I actually enjoyed the epilogue (usually ones like we get at the end of Mockingjay annoy me, but this time it works).

In the end, I think everyone who loves the series will have very different reactions to this last book depending on their tastes, and their views of the first two. For me, it mostly worked, with some reservations; I’m just sad the series is over and will have to take a weekend to read them all in a row at some point.

3 thoughts on “Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

  1. I finished it a few days ago and kind of had a similar reaction. Loved the first two books, but I was kind of up in the air about the last one. It seemed like there was a complete lack of hope throughout the entire book, and some things felt rushed. I gave it a 3/5 myself.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

    • So glad I’m not the only one who was iffy about it. It really seemed to me like hardly any time was passing at all; they were constantly just out fighting, and we hardly get to see any of the planning/operations of the war. I’m still so torn =/

  2. I definitely don’t think that Mockingjay was as good as the first two… Maybe cause I read it really quickly and didn’t have the time to appreciate it as much as I could have. I did get my ideal ending though so maybe that’s why I left the book with a good lasting impression.

Comments are closed.