I Now Pronounce You Someone Else by Erin McCahan

I Now Pronounce You Someone Else
by Erin McCahan
ISBN-13: 9-780545-088183
Rating: 4 ♥ / 5 ♥ – I really liked it

Here comes the bride – if she can pass chemistry.

Eighteen-year-old Bronwen Oliver has a secret: She’s really Phoebe, the last daughter of the loving Lilywhite family. That’s the only way to explain her image-obsessed mother; a kind but distant stepfather; and a brother who has a small personality complex (he thinks he’s Jesus). Bronwen must have been switched at birth, and she can’t wait to get away from her family for good.

Then she meets Jared Sondervan. He’s sweet, funny, everything she wants – and he has the family Bronwen has always wanted too. She falls head over heels in lve, and when he proposes marriage, she joyfully accepts. But is Jared truly what she needs? And if he’s not, she has to ask: What would Phoebe Lilywhite do?

This is such a sweet, and fun, book. Bronwen has felt distant from her mother, and her family, ever since her father die when she was young. She decides that it must be because she was really supposed to be the daughter of a different family – it’s a way to cope with frustration. When she meets Jared, they instantly connect. After dating a bit, Bronwen and Jared have a swift, calm and believeable descent into love – and engagement! But Bronwen is still discovering who she is as a person, and maybe marriage at such a young age isn’t what she needs, no matter how much she loves Jared.

Before I get into characters and plot, the only thing I want to mention is that even though I enjoyed the writing, pace, etc. I wish there had been a few less dashes in the text and a couple more commas. Anyway, it’s a small style point and definitely doesn’t detract from the story.

I really liked Bronwen. She’s someone I would see myself being friends with. She’s a little quirky, good in school, has a sensible head on her shoulders (as much as any 18 year old can), a good sense of humour and genuinely loves her family, even if she doesn’t always understand or get along with them. Jared, too, is immensly likeable. He is indearing, sweet, sincere and honestly cares for and loves Bronwen (even with the threeish year age difference!). It was great to see characters who interacted with the families, and despite some of the grownup decision Bronwen and Jared make, they’re still young adults, and act as such.

It was refreshing to see a book without any huge dramatic events; I Now Pronounce You Someone Else is a story about finding yourself, and growing into the person you want to be. It’s about friendship and love, and of course, family. While I did find it a bit odd that Jared and Bronwen would be thinking of engagement after such a small time period (though longer than some relationships in books), I wasn’t bugged by their age difference at all. Even though Jared’s a senior in University and Bronwen a senior in high school, there’s only about a three or four year age difference (depending on the schooling, I suppose). Maybe a little bit of a stretch, bit still fine.

This is definitely a book to look into, especially if you like contemporary novels and lighthearted reading.

Thank you to Book Sparks PR for sending me this book to review as part of a blog tour for Erin McCahan.

One thought on “I Now Pronounce You Someone Else by Erin McCahan

  1. YAY! I’m so glad you liked this book. I know I did. Bronwen was a character who really felt unique in her thoughts, feelings and experiences, and I loved that about the story. Agree with you about the dashes, though.

Comments are closed.