Die For Me by Amy Plum

Die For Me
by Amy Plum

ISBN-13: 9-780062-004017
Published: May 2011 by HarperCollins
Rating: 4 ♥ / 5 ♥ – I really liked it!

My life has always been blissfuully, wonderfully normal. But it only took one moment to change everything.

Suddenly, my sister, Georgia, and I were orphans. We put our lives into storage and moved to Paris to live with my grandparents. And I knew my shattered heart, my shattered life, would never feel normal again. Then I met Vincent.

Mysterious, sexy, and unnervingly charming, Vincent Delacroix appeared out of nowhere and swept me off my feet. Just like that, I was in danger of losing my heart all over again. But I was ready to let it happen.

Of course, nothing is ever that easy. Because Vincent is no normal human. He has a terrifying destiny, one that puts his life at risk every day. He also has enemies…immortal, murderous enemies who are determined to destroy him and all his kind.

While I’m fighting to piece together the remnants of my life, can I risk putting my heart – as well as my life and my family’s – in jeopardy for a chance at love?

Die For Me in a sentence? A paranormal, action-packed love story. In France. Ok, so that’s two sentences but you get the idea. Kate and her sister move to France after the death of their parents, and Kate finds more adventure than she ever wanted. Along with a gorgeous, mysterious guy, Kate finds herself hip deep in his paranormal world, where Vincent is immortal and has numerous enemies.

I was wrapped up in Kate and Vincent’s story from the beginning, and the pace of the story kept up right to the end of the book – I was never bored. I enjoyed the descriptions of the area of Paris Kate frequents, and the history behind Vincent and his family was wicked. Amy Plum’s take on a dead but still living human was great – not vampire, not zombie, something closer to Highlander. Her characters were very easy to connect with as well, which is one of the reasons I enjoyed the book so much, I think. At the beginning, Kate is lost and lonely, but after she meets Vincent and discovers his world she slowly comes out of her shell and finds the inner strength to be strong and brave in the face of adversity. And, she doesn’t just accept the paranormal right away either, which I liked. She had a health skepticism. Vincent is very soft spoken, but tough. He’s lived a long time, and is very much a protector of the people he loves and his family. Kate’s sister and Vincent’s family members all had wonderfully detailed personalities and helped make the book.

Die For Me is a great addition to the paranormal genre, and I think anyone that likes a good love story with their dark and mysterious action-filled paranormal world will highly enjoy it. The writing and characters are the high points of the book, and there is great description of people and places. I’m looking forward to reading more about Kate, Vincent and their families in the upcoming sequel- and I can’t wait to find out what kinds of trouble they’ll get into.

Copy provided by Inkpop and HarperCollins in exchange for my honest review. Thank you!

One thought on “Die For Me by Amy Plum

Comments are closed.