BBAW Day 4: Blogging and Reading

Book bloggers blog because we love reading. Has book blogging changed the way you read? Have you discovered books you never would have apart from book blogging? How has book blogging affected your book acquisition habits? Have you made new connections with other readers because of book blogging? Choose any one of these topics and share your thoughts today!

I know it says choose any one, but this will be a mashup of the questions asked in today’s BBAW blog topic.

Let’s start with discovering books and book acquisition habits. Before I discovered and started book blogging, I was one of those people who went to the bookstore and browsed the shelves for hours reading the backs of books to find ones I thought sounded good. Oh, I did have a few go-to authors, or books I had been recommended and wanted, but generally it was a search-and-find (no wonder family and friends hated going to bookstores with me!). Since blogging, I know have a Microsoft OneNote notebook organized into months where I list out all the books I want to buy according to their release month. I went from picking out books that sounded good from their synopsis while in-store, to having books already listed that don’t come out until next June!! I am in and out of bookstores so quickly now, it’s been years since anyone’s declined to go to a bookstore with me. So, in my round about way of saying so, yes – I’ve found books I never would have discovered were it not for book blogging.

However, my wonderfully full list of books means that for the first time ever I have more than one or two un-read books on my shelves. I’m buying significantly more books now then any time previous to blogging (even when I worked in a bookstore!). I blame it on the fact that I have a love for hardcovers, and need all my books to match. I’m weird, I know. I went from buying a book or two every month or so, to buying two or three a week. The good news, I’ll have plenty of books to tide me over in case I’m ever trapped inside during a zombie apocalypse.

Oh, and that’s something else book blogging changed! In elementary school, I was all about Baby-Sitters Club, Sweet Valley, Boxcar Children, etc. In high school, high fantasy (Wheel of Time, Sword of Truth, etc.) and sci-fi (and Anita Blake =P). Now? Young adult paranormal, fantasy, sci-fi and zombie books. Oh, there’s still some Anita Blake, some romance and adult zombie/sci-fi/horror, but book blogging really drew out my inner young adult and I love it. The young adult book blogging has led to meeting some amazingly wonderful people, too, so it’s been great.

All i know, is that my books-to-buy list grows ever bigger, and my book shelves ever fuller. It’s a good life 🙂

3 thoughts on “BBAW Day 4: Blogging and Reading

Comments are closed.