“Waiting On” Wednesday: The Pledge by Kimberly Derting

“Waiting On” Wednesday is hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine.

 

The Pledge
by Kimberly Derting
Publication date: November 15, 2011 from Margaret K. McElderry (Simon&Schuster)

In the violent country of Ludania, the language you speak determines what class you are, and there are harsh punishments if you forget your place—looking a member of a higher class in the eye can result in immediate execution. Seventeen-year-old Charlaina (Charlie for short) can understand all languages, a dangerous ability she’s been hiding her whole life. Her only place of release is the drug-filled underground club scene, where people go to shake off the oppressive rules of the world they live in. There, she meets a beautiful and mysterious boy who speaks a language she’s never heard, and her secret is almost exposed. Through a series of violent upheavals, it becomes clear that Charlie herself is the key to forcing out the oppressive power structure of her kingdom…

7 thoughts on ““Waiting On” Wednesday: The Pledge by Kimberly Derting

  1. aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!! I got this from Simon and Schuster Galley Grab. But I think I might just wait until I have the hardcover edition. Reading in paper is so much better!! =D

    I also wanted to invite you to my great international giveaway!! there are 12 different titles from where you can choose!

    http://dazzlingreads.blogspot.com/2011/10/autumn-giveaway.html

    My WoW

    http://dazzlingreads.blogspot.com/2011/10/waiting-on-wednesday-pandemonium-by.html

    Take care and Happy reading! =D

  2. Yup, I’m totally one of those waiting on this book! I’ve never read one where language is such a plot lynchpin, and the whole concept of this fascinates me. Definitely looking forward to reading it!

    Smiles!
    Lori

Comments are closed.