Thankful For…

Beth Revis is hosting an amazing contest to celebrate not just Thanksgiving, but also the upcoming release of A Million Suns, the sequel to this years Across the Universe. Even though my own Thanksgiving is long past, you never need an excuse to be thankful for something!

So, the idea is to post about a book, or books, that you are thankful for. I am, of course, thankful for more than just one book, and rather than do multiple posts I thought I’d include them all here:

Awake and Dreaming by Kit Pearson is the first book that showed me how magical a story could be. At first glance it is a story about family and growing up, but the ghost and magic made the story really stand out for me. I fell in love with reading at this point.

Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson is the first book I read that had me in tears by the end. I realized that not all books would have happy endings, and that the stories and writing that move me to strong emotion are the best.

Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling. I don’t even know how to explain my love for Harry Potter. I’ve been with Harry and the gang since I was twelve (that’s twelve years of Harry!) and the series started my love of fantasy. The themes, magic, heart and story of Harry Potter pulled me in and never let go. This series of books has the honour of being part of a small pile of books that I have read at least eight times over (Bridge to Terabithia is also in that pile).

Zanna’s Gift by Orson Scott Card found me after I had lost my brother, and I bawled through the whole book. And have read it each Christmas since. It’s soothing, and reminds that even though it is only fiction, people experience what I have all the time – I’m not alone.

Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan. Though I have never finished the series, WoT brought me to my best friend. We bonded in grade nine over the books and RPG boards and we’ve never looked back. So even though it’s not my favourite series ever, it holds a special place in my library.

