Review: A Million Suns by Beth Revis


A Million Suns
by Beth Revis

ISBN-13: 9-781595-143983
Published: January 2012 from Razorbill (Penguin)
Rating: 5 ♥ / 5 ♥ – I loved it!

It’s been three months since Elder unplugged Amy. The life she always knew is over. And everywhere she looks, she sees the walls of the spaceship Godspeed. But there may just be hope: Elder has assumed leadership of the ship. He’s finally free to enact his vision – no more Phydus, no more lies.

But when Elder learns shocking news about the sip, he and Amy race to discover the truth behind life on Godspeed. They must work together to unlock a puzzle that was set in motion hundreds of years earlier, unable to fight the romance that’s growing between them and the chaos that threatens to tear them apart.

From the first chapter of A Million Suns I was drawn and hooked back in to Amy’s and Elder’s story. Everything you thought you knew at the end of Across the Universe? Forget it. I’m not joking. Elder and Amy discover some pretty crazy secrets and lies throughout the course of this book and nothing on Godspeed is as it seems. It’s a race to the finish line, and no one is safe – or who they seem to be.

The action is non-stop from the get-go. Elder has taken the ships population off of Phydus and the crazy hits the fan. Revolution, mutiny, murder, riots…Elder thought things would be different once Eldest was gone, and he was right. Just not in the way he wanted to be. While Elder is running around the ship trying to keep the peace and figure out what’s going on with the ship, Amy is being led on a merry chase around the ship by Orion (I know, he’s frozen! What can I say, he’s crafty.). He says only she can make the ultimate decision for the ship once she knows the secrets that are hiding in the depths of Godspeed.

I love Elder like crazy. He’s tough and smart, and tries so hard to do the right thing. But he’s a teenager. No matter how much he has been raised to one day rule over Godspeed, he is young and makes mistakes. He’s not ready for the consequences of taking the population off of Phydus and he gets wrapped up in Amy’s quest from Orion – and wrapped up in Amy. Amy herself wavers between being an independent and strong young women to needing Elder’s guidance and forgiving him way too quickly. But I get it. She’s a teenager alone in a place completely foreign to her, and Elder’s pretty gorgeous and in charge. And even though they have this whole romance going on, I never once disbelieved it. They fight like crazy! Amy is never sure from one event/secret/lie to the next how she really feels, but she’s at least stopped denying she feels nothing. There are some nice moments between Elder and Amy that are romance icing on the muder-mystery-in-space cake that is A Million Suns.

A Million Suns is everything I was hoping it would be in more. The beginning and ending chapters had me bug eyed in disbelief and excitement. I was shocked at the twists and turns, at who the villain is/was and by the amount of death that Beth Revis can manage to squeeze into one spaceship and one book. I mean, come on. She blows things up. It’s epic! I closed the last page of this book and immediately cursed myself for needing to read it right away in time for launch day (today!). Because now I have to wait for book three, Shades of Earth, and I am completely impatient (especially after the ending! Trust me, you’ll be impatient too). I adore this series, and hope you do too!

ARC provided by Penguin in exchange for my honest review. Thank you!

A Million Suns is part of the Sophomore Challenge hosted by Chick Loves Lit.

4 thoughts on “Review: A Million Suns by Beth Revis

Comments are closed.