CLA Young Adult Book Award

On March 1, the Canadian Library Association announced the shortlist for their Young Adult Book Award.

This award recognizes an author of an outstanding English-language Canadian work of
fiction (novel, collection of short stories or graphic novel), published in 2011, that
appeals to young adults between the ages of 13 and 18.
Press Release.

The Shortlist
The Gathering by Kelley Armstrong (Random House)
All Good Children by Catherine Austen (Orca)
Fanatics by William Bell (Random House)
The Woefield Poultry Collective by Susan Juby (HarperCollins)
Once Every Never by Lesley Livingston (Penguin Canada) My Review
My Beating Teenage Heart by C.K. Kelly Martin (Random House)
The Town that Drowned by Riel Nason (Goose Lane)
This Dark Endeavour by Kenneth Oppel (HarperCollins)
Karma by Cathy Ostlere (Penguin Canada) My Review
Held by Edeet Ravel (Annick)

I’ve read two of the nominees’ books (Once Every Never and Karma), and have two on my TBR pile (My Beating Teenage Heart and All Good Children) – I’ll have to bump them up the list to make sure I have them read before the CLA announces the winner in May.

Congrats to all the nominees and good luck!


One thought on “CLA Young Adult Book Award

  1. Pingback: CLA Young Adult Book Award | Escape Through the Pages | Mentone Mif

Comments are closed.