Author Interview: Kathleen Peacock [blog tour]

Please welcome debut author, and fellow Maritimer, Kathleen Peacock to Escape Through the Pages!


Books
Hemlock (2012)

Find Kathleen:
Twitter | Goodreads | Website

My review of Hemlock

Hi Kathleen, welcome to Escape Through the Pages!

Thanks so much for having me!

Let’s start by talking about the book. Hemlock is the first in a planned trilogy – did you always see yourself writing a series, or did the world and story evolve as you wrote Hemlock?

I’ve always loved trilogies. Each entry has a beginning and an end but also serves as part of an overall arc for the story and for the characters. I find that fascinating. Also, a lot of the movies and books I obsessed over as a teen tended to either be part of trilogies or series.

I definitely thought Hemlock had the potential to be a trilogy, but I originally wrote it as a standalone in case I couldn’t interest agents (or publishers) in multiple books. After the book sold (as part of a trilogy), I was able to go back and revise it. A few plot threads were unknotted and a few characters were moved to other books.

My first memorable werewolf is Oz from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Are there any werewolves in pop culture that influenced the history and depiction of your werewolves in Hemlock?

I love Oz. The “Wild at Heart” episode from season four makes me cry like a baby. Every. Single. Time.

Though I didn’t consciously think about it when writing, I believe An American Werewolf in London probably influenced the transformation scenes. In An American Werewolf, you can actually hear the bones in David’s body popping and cracking the first time he shifts. It’s intense. I also think the dream sequences in Hemlock owe a slight nod to the Ginger Snaps films.

If Mac could walk into a room with her own personal theme song playing, which song would you imagine it to be?

It’s not a happy song, but “Born Losers” by Matthew Good always makes me think of Mac. Especially the following lines:

Well there ain’t nothin’ to this but your daughter/And the life you would not give her
She could never say that flat out she don’t want me/’Cause I could never say that halfway ain’t enough

 

If Mac was to pick her own song, I think she’d pick something from the Tegan and Sara album The Con. Maybe “Nineteen.”

 

If you were stranded in the middle of a snowstorm and had only one book with you, which book would you want it to be?

I’m pretty sure I spent most of my childhood stranded in snow storms.

If I had to pick just one book, it would be Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason. It just never fails to make me ridiculously happy. Also, I am in love with Mark Darcy. Forever and always.

And, since like you I would most likely be fodder in the zombie apocalypse…werewolves vs. zombies – who would win?

That depends…Are we talking original Night of the Living Dead zombies (which shuffle) or are we talking crazy fast zombies like in I Am Legend or 28 Days Later? Are all dead bodies reanimated or just people who have been bitten? Are there zombie cats like in Misfits? Have the werewolves had breakfast?

There are just too many variables… The only thing I do know is that I’d be toast.

Haha, as would I. Thanks Kathleen!


About Kathleen

Kathleen spent most of her teen years writing short stories. She put her writing dreams on hold while attending college but rediscovered them when office life started leaving her with an allergy to cubicles.

Hemlock, her first novel, will be released on May 8th by Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins

