Monster Pick Your Thon for June 2012

It’s that time again where Kate and Kristen of The Book Monsters host a Pick Your Thon – a thon where you can read, review or both! It’s up to you. I usually do a combination of both, and this month is no exception. I’ll be reading and reviewing as much as possible this week. New this time, though, is that I will be hosting a mini-challenge! Check back here on June 14th to participate and gather another letter in the scavenger hunt. Details are all at the starting line post on The Book Monsters.

My Details

1. Which thon are you choosing? Readathon, Reviewathon or both? And why?
Both! I find too much of one thing actually leads to me being more easily distracted. By mixing it up, I should be able to maximize the amount of reading and reviewing I get done.

2. Where are you from? You can be vague or specific, up to you.
I’m from Nova Scotia, Canada. The farthest east you can go in Canada without having to take a ferry or plane, full of fog and rain but some beautiful scenery and good food. I love it here.

3. Say a little bit about yourself so we can get to know you if we don’t already!
Hey, I’m Cait! I’ve just recently finished my elementary Bachelor of Education. I’ll spend the next little while subbing until I can find a permanent classroom position, so I also work part time in retail. I am very excited to be starting this new chapter in my life and hope it takes me to good places!

4. What are you currently reading or about to pick up to read?
I just finished Fathomless by Jackson Pearce today, so I’ll be returning to Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver to finish that (I started it before leaving for BEA).

5. What are your goals for this Pick Your Thon?
Finish Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver.
Read Blackwood by Gwenda Bond and 2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson. And since that one is such a big book, I have Pilgrims Don’t Wear Pink by Stephanie Kate Strohm on reserve if I need a break.
Write and schedule 4 reviews.

5 thoughts on “Monster Pick Your Thon for June 2012

  1. Hey Cait, I’m a follower/subscriber to your blog, and I just wanted to comment to congratulate you on completing your degree in Education, and beginning your journey as a teacher. I’m a teacher, and I just wanted to wish you all the luck in the world. Hope you get wonderful, creative, imaginative yet obedient students…and may you find much success in your career! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much! I’m excited to see where this journey takes me, and these few weeks of subbing a head will definitely give me some good experience πŸ™‚

  2. Those are some great goals! Fathomless looks so good! I love Jackson’s books. Thanks for joining us and being willing to help! And a huge congrats on graduating! I know how hard it is to find a job in education. I worked as a library aide for a year while I got my LIS endorsement and then was lucky enough to find my current position, even though it involved moving an hour away. πŸ™‚ Subbing is exciting and fun, but some days I know it can get you down working day to day, week to week. Hopefully you’ll find something this next school year.

    • Fathomless is very good, I love how she ties it in to the other two. And thank you! I’m so excited to be doing some subbing before this school year is done (grade six on Monday! Eek!) and hoping to find a good position for next year πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.