Review: The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa

The Iron Queen
by Julie Kagawa

ISBN-13: 9-780373-210183
Publication: January 2011 from Harlequin Teen
Series: book 3 in The Iron Fey
Rating: 4 ♥ / 5 ♥ – I really liked it!

My name is Meghan Chase.

I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who’s sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I’m not sure anyone can survive it.

This time, there will be no turning back.

SPOILERS FOR BOOKS 1 & 2!

The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa is a wonderful conclusion to Meghan’s point of view in The Iron Fey series. Everything is coming to a head, and Meghan has some tough choices to make.

Meghan and Ash have been banished from the Nevernever, but it doesn’t last very long. The Iron Fey are still encroaching into Summer and Winter territory, and Meghan knows she’ll need to venture into the Iron lands in order to defeat them. With Ash and Puck by her side, the battle is on, and it’s going to change everything Meghan knows. I have to say the battle scenes in this third book are nothing short of awesome. I loved getting to see some actual fighting between the Summer, Winter and Iron fey with Meghan getting right in there and “saving the day” if you will. There are some wonderful moments, too, with Ash after he’s Knighted. He and Meghan really know how to bring the angst and you can’t help but feel for them.

Julie Kagawa’s writing flows well and is easy to lose yourself in. The emotion of the characters comes through loud and clear, and the story never lags. I have to admit I found the plot line with Meghan’s dad a bit random, and I was never a huge fan of Grim – he just shows up to get Meghan where she needs to go, really. It would have been nice to see more of him. The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa leave Meghan’s point of view with an intense decision and ending, and I’m excited to see Ash in The Iron Knight next.

