“Waiting On” Wednesday: Valkyrie Rising by Ingrid Paulson

“Waiting On” Wednesday is hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine.

Valkyrie Rising
by Ingrid Paulson
Publication date: October 9, 2012 from HarperTeen

Nothing ever happens in Norway. But at least Ellie knows what to expect when she visits her grandmother: a tranquil fishing village and long, slow summer days. And maybe she’ll finally get out from under the shadow of her way-too-perfect big brother, Graham, while she’s there.

What Ellie doesn’t anticipate is Graham’s infuriating best friend, Tuck, tagging along for the trip. Nor did she imagine boys going missing amid rumors of impossible kidnappings. Least of all does she expect something powerful and ancient to awaken in her and that strange whispers would urge Ellie to claim her place among mythological warriors. Instead of peace and quiet, there’s suddenly a lot for a girl from L.A. to handle on a summer sojourn in Norway! And when Graham vanishes, it’s up to Ellie — and the ever-sarcastic, if undeniably alluring Tuck — to uncover the truth about all the disappearances and thwart the nefarious plan behind them.

Deadly legends, hidden identities, and tentative romance swirl together in one girl’s unexpectedly-epic coming of age.

19 thoughts on ““Waiting On” Wednesday: Valkyrie Rising by Ingrid Paulson

  1. I thought this one sounded cheesy the first time I read the synopsis, but it’s growing on me more and more. I think I’m especially excited for the setting and mythology – I hope it’s well done! Great pick.

    If you’d like, you can check out my WoW here.

  2. Whilst reading the syopsis I thought, love interest of Tuck, then I thought it was going to change, and I think I’ve been proven right by them being stuck together. Already sounds too predictable, but I hope you like it! 🙂

    Check out my Wow!

  3. I’ve seen this book around a lot. Sounds like it’d be an entertaining read. Hope you get to read it soon 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by
    @ Livin’ Life Through Books

  4. Hey thanks for stopping by my blog :).
    This is the second time that I’m seeing this book today. It sounds really good ! And I like YA books that are set in different countries ! I already added that one to my TBR list :).

  5. YESS I’m so excited for this one as well! It sounds really different and the mythology sounds amazing! Plus, I think I may already be falling a little for Tuck x) Fantastic pick and thanks for stopping by!

Comments are closed.