Author Interview: Kat Kruger [blog tour]

Please welcome Kat Kruger to Escape Through the Pages!

from Fierce Ink Press

Books
The Night Has Teeth (2012)

Find Kat
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

My review of The Night Has Teeth.

Hi Kat! Welcome to Escape Through the Pages.

First off, I love the setting for the novel and I have to ask: why France?

Well, I love that you love the setting! As for why I chose it, I wouldn’t say I’m amazingly world travelled or anything but France is probably my fave place on earth. I know, I know: hyperbole much? But I love the food, the culture, the people, the history. Did you know that there’s a Colisseum in the south of France that’s better preserved than the one in Rome? And it’s still in use? Like Civil War reenactments in the States they do Roman Games reeanactments. It’s stuff like that that inspires me to write.

I really enjoyed the idea of born vs. bitten werewolves and the differences because of it. What werewolf books and/or movies have inspired you, if any?

I’m kind of on a werewolf genre vacation right now because I don’t want to be influenced in writing the rest of the trilogy but I made an exception for Maggie Stiefvater’s Wolves of Mercy Falls series pretty early on. Actually I almost died reading it because she has a bit of science fiction weaved into those books. I’m also a fan of Kelley Armstrong’s werewolves. They’re pretty sexy. As for movies, American Werewolf in London and Dog Soldiers were both great flicks for their dark humor. In some of the earlier drafts of The Night Has Teeth, Connor uses more humor to diffuse some of the situations he finds himself in.

The Night has Teeth (and you!) won the Atlantic Writing Competition. What has winning and the publication process been like?

Winning was just amazing. It gave me the validation that I think every writer wants. The support that I got from the writing community was thrilling, particularly after the ceremony last year. You feel like a rock star when strangers stop you and say they not only recognize you but enjoyed your reading and are looking forward to the book coming out. It was a tough sell though to agents and publishers. The rejection letters I got were all lovely oddly enough. They consistently told me I had a strong commercial voice but that the market was over saturated. That was disheartening. I had invested all my writing into this book so I didn’t want to give up on it. Instead I decided to self-publish. I hired an editor, a cover designer, even got a production company to produce a book trailer. That’s when Colleen [Fierce Ink Press], who was one of my beta readers, talked to me and the rest is history.

If you had to hop on a plane to France right this minute, what book would you want with you for the journey?

Ysabel by Guy Gavriel Kay. I think that book is the reason why I fell in love with the south of France so hard in particular. One day I’d love to set a novel there. One day…

Thank you so much Kat!

