Top Ten Books to Get in the Halloween Spirit

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Today’s topic is “Books to Get in the Halloween Spirit”. I’m not a fan of horror or anything that could give me nightmares, so most of these won’t be very scary – expect a lot of zombies. You can join in at this post.

1. Dead of Night by Jonathan Maberry – the best kind of zombie book. It’s the first outbreak, and zombies are running wild. Dark, gritty, gory – perfect Halloween horror.

2. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley – it’s Frankenstein. What’s more Halloween than Frankenstein?

3. The Night has Teeth by Kat Kruger – werewolves and a creepy underground labyrinth make this book, while not really scary, a good one to help get you in that Halloween supernatural mindset.

4. The Infects by Sean Beaudoin – this is a really gritty and gory zombie book, so perfect for the Halloween ick factor.

5. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan – while a calmer zombie novel than some, it’s still zombies and thus good for Halloween in my opinion!

6. Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake – ghosts, hauntings, creepy houses and a ghost hunter. Nice and chilling for Halloween.

7. The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa – vampires! Vampires are always very Halloweeny, and The Immortal Rules is a creepy look at a vampire run society.

8. Lockdown: Escape From Furnace by Alexander Gordon Smith – a very dark and pretty scary look at an underground prison populated by teens, where things are lurking in the dark and people disappear.

9. The Dead I Know by Scott Gardner – while not very creepy, The Dead I Know takes place primarily in a funeral home, and the main character has some terrifying nightmares.

10. Anything by Christopher Pike circa the 1990s, like Monster, Final Friends, Remember Me and The Last Vampire. Christopher Pike was the fist author whose books scared me and I loved it.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Books to Get in the Halloween Spirit

  1. Ooh great list. The Forest of Hands and Teeth really creeped me out, and I like the sound of Dead of Night. Anna is a fun scary one too. Happy spooky reading!

  2. Ooh, Frankenstein is a good choice! and I went with Fear Street over Christopher Pike, but I put him in my “runners up” category.

  3. Great list! I’ve heard great things about Anna Dressed in Blood, and I have a copy on my Kindle app, waiting to be read. I also put a Maberry book on my list – he does horror pretty well, eh? Thanks for sharing!

Comments are closed.