Top Ten Books/Authors I Am Thankful For

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is authors or books we are thankful for. While Canadian Thanksgiving is long passed, that doesn’t mean I can’t still give thanks! I have a mix of books and authors below, and you can join in at this link.

1. J.K. Rowling/Harry Potter series – I grew up alongside Harry, and the series was the one that really cemented my love and admiration for the Young Adult (and Middle Grade!) genres. Harry Potter led me to some good friends and some great memories. I don’t know what I would do without those books, honestly.

2. Christopher Pike – I read through Pike’s backlist pretty quickly during grades 7 and 8, devouring creepy monster stories, mind-bending time travel, amazing vampires and receiving a healthy fear of chain letters, VCRs and parties. His books entranced me and gave me that little dose of horror everyone needs now and then.

3. Bridge to Terabithia – this book shows up on most of my lists and I feel very repetitive, but honestly…so thankful for this book. Showed me that books can wring so much emotion out of you, and even when you’re bawling your eyes out, you’ll have a smile on your face when you turn the last page.

4. The Giver/Lois Lowry – The Giver and its sequels amaze me. I came to The Giver later in life, when I was already in university. I had read other books by Lois Lowry but always put off reading The Giver (it was a “school book” after all). I’m glad I finally read it, because the themes, emotion and world building blew me away. It’s the book that attracted me to dystopian literature and I’m forever thankful for it!

5. Robert Jordan/Wheel of Time – while I’ve never finished the series, I am so thankful for it. WoT brought me a best friend, and that friend a husband. I have extremely fond memories of the series and promise to re-read and finish it one day!

6. Brightly Woven – this YA fantasy rekindled my love of high fantasy and the amazing new worlds that authors can create. I need more straight-up magic in my reading life.

7. The Baby-Sitters Club – taught me to read. I devoured this series when I was younger, and it was the first section I went to on library visits. Some of my earliest memories are of mom reading my book one at night before bed.

8. Sleeping Dragons All Around – such a fun and memorable children’s book. I remember checking this one out of the library over and over and having mom read it to us. It’s an amazing poem, and a book I will put in every child’s hand that I can.

9. Every Day/David Levithan – Every Day in particular, but all David Levithan books I’ve read have packed quite a punch. Beautiful writing, important subject matter and such good stories. Amazing read.

10. My cheat (I always cheat) – all the authors, publishers, and publicists who have reached out to me, or responded to e-mails since I began this blog and journey, and all the books I’ve read because of it that I may not have known about. The world of YA/MG writing is vast and I’m just at the tip of the ice burg!

