Happy New Year + Top 5 of 2012

Happy New Year 2013

Happy New Year everyone! I can’t believe how quickly time flies by. My goal at the beginning of 2012 was to read at least 60 books and I not only met that goal, but I surpassed it by reading 62 books in 2012. I’m sticking with a goal of 60 again this year and hope to beat it again. Out of those 62 books there are always the few that leave a lasting impression and make the “best of” list. So here’s my top 5 reads of 2012, in no particular order:

Days of Blood and Starlight Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

The sequel to Daughter of Smoke and Bone (a 2011 favourite book) and you know what? I loved it even more than the first book. This sequel had me enthralled from page one and I can’t even begin to explain how the ending made me feel. Apocalypses, angels, war, romance, friendship, magic! It has it all, my friends. I am so pumped for the third book, I don’t even know if I can handle the wait. This is definitely one of the best series I’ve read in a long time, and I have high hopes for book three!

Son Son by Lois Lowry

Slated to make this top five from the beginning. I have no end of love for The Giver, and I couldn’t believe it when I stumbled across the news of book four in the series when signing up for BEA last spring. And to hear Lois Lowry speak? One of the best moments I’ve ever had. I went in to Son with no amount of fear – here we would be once again visiting Jonas’ community, and his character. Would it live up to my love for The Giver? I should not have worried. Lois Lowry proves again how amazing of a storyteller she is, and Jonas’ world was just as I remembered it.

Hemlock Hemlock by Kathleen Peacock

Werewolves. Werewolves that are amazing and just happen to be written by a (semi)local author! I had no idea when I first heard about Hemlock that Kathleen was Canadian, let alone local. The book sounded great and right up my alley in terms of genre. I love this book, and think it’s a huge contribution to werewolf lit. Mac and the others are beautifully fleshed-out characters and I can’t get enough of the wolves and the lore. Can’t wait for book two!

Every Day Every Day by David Levithan

I really can’t say much more about Every Day that my review didn’t, except to once again reiterate how much I love this book. I couldn’t put it down – it had me smiling, laughing, crying. A is such a unique and amazing character, and the book’s concept is mind-boggling. David Levithan does his stories justice with beautiful and captivating prose. If you’ve never read a book by David Levithan, I highly recommend this one. If you have read his books before, sit back and enjoy. This one is breathtaking.

All Good Children All Good Children by Catherine Austen

My surprise read of the year. I requested this one off of LibraryThing based on synopsis alone. I was happy to receive a copy, but didn’t pick it up for a while. Once I did, I was hooked. Max and his world are enthralling. For me, this is a perfect example of a dystopia and struck a chord with me due to the dystopian factor heavily revolving around students and schooling. Only after I finished the book did I look more into it and realize that Catherine Austen is Canadian. Obviously, this is the worlds way of telling me to actively seek out more Canadian lit – and not to just stumble upon treasures by accident.

The False Prince The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen

Everything I like in high fantasy. Wonderful world building, a map, strong well-rounded characters and a gripping story. I was sucked into Sage’s story right away and made myself comfortable there. The world needs more straight-up made-up places in books, and The False Prince helps deliver. I would place this one in every classroom if I had the chance – kids need more fantasy worlds to play in.

