Bout of Books 6.0 Update Post

Bout of Books Read-a-Thon

Bout of Books 6.0 has officially started! I’ll be updating at this post, live updates throughout the day and then a recap at the end.

1/7
Number of books I’ve read today: parts of two
Total number of books I’ve read:
Page count: 76 pages + 3 hours
Books: Timekeeper, Storm Front

Live Update
Timekeeper e-book – 55 pages (1-55, 12pm)
Storm Front audiobook – 2 1/2 hours (ch 3, 2pm)
Storm Front audiobook – 1/2 hour (ch 4, 10pm)
Timekeeper e-book – 22 pages (55-76, 12:30am)

Challenge
Today’s challenge is Scientific Discovery hosted by The Book Barbies. The idea is to pick one BFF and one boyfriend to bring out of their books and into our world. Harder than it sounds!

Unspoken
For a book BFF, I think I’d bring out Kami Glass from Sarah Rees Brennan’s Unspoken. Kami is an upbeat, determined want-to-be journalist. She’s a little quirky, funny, and is tight with her friends. A little too curious for her own good sometimes, I would definitely be the opposite. I think she’d be a great friend to bring some adventure into my life, and I’d be able to help control her rushing-in tendencies. Kami seems like a character that would be the type of friend to be there with a shoulder to cry on, someone to listen, plan a heist with or just relax or be silly with.

The False Prince
Book boyfriend took a lot more time to think of, but in the end I believe I’d bring out Sage from The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen. I’m just going to quote right from my review here: “He’s straightforward, mouthy, sarcastic, defiant and yet cares so much. He’s sneaky, a thief and a protector. He’s generous and strong and just very real.” He’s one of those bad-boy types that has his head on right and really does care for those he considers friends and family. He can take care of himself and knows the value of living life for every day. Seems pretty great to me!

divider

1/8
Number of books I’ve read today: parts of two
Total number of books I’ve read:
Page count: 24 pages, 1 hour 5 minutes
Books: Timekeeper, Storm Front

Live Update
Storm Front audiobook – 10 minutes (7:50am)
Storm Front audiobook – 15 minutes (3:10pm)
Timekeeper e-book – 6 pages (76-82, 3:30pm)
Storm Front audiobook – 40 minutes (10pm)
Timekeeper e-book – 18 pages (82-100, midnight)

Also completed the Guess the Cover Challenge at Never Too Fond of Books

divider

1/9
Number of books I’ve read today: parts of three
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Page count: 261 + 40 minutes
Books: Timekeeper, Storm Front, The Archived

Live Update
Timekeeper e-book – 161 pages (100-261, 1:15pm) FINISHED
The Archived – 77 pages (1-77, 3pm)
Storm Front audiobook – 20 minutes (5pm)
The Archived – 23 pages (77-100, 8:30pm)
Storm Front audiobook – 20 minutes (10pm)

Challenge
Hanna from Booking in Heels has issued the Page 48 Challenge. Opening your current read to page 48, you copy the first full sentence and then add four more. It doesn’t have to keep with the plot, world or anything. My current read is The Archived by Victoria Schwab. The first sentence on page 48 and my own 4 are:

“I trace my fingers over the dates and it is last year again and I’m sitting in one of those hospital chairs that look like they might actually be comfortable but they’re not because there’s nothing comfortable about hospitals.” There is always too much white, and they all smell the same. Like a mix of Purell, medicine and sickness. If I never have to see the inside of a hospital again it will be too soon. Too many sad memories.

divider

1/10
Number of books I’ve read today: parts of two
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Page count: 62 + 80 minutes
Books: The Archived, Storm Front

Live Update
The Archived – 17 pages (100-117, 11am)
Storm Front audiobook – 40 minutes (ch 7)
The Archived – 45 pages (117-162, 4:15pm)
Storm Front audiobook – 40 minutes (ch 8)

Challenge
I hosted one today – Book Spine Poetry! I am loving all the poems being created, they’re amazing. Good thing I’m not picking the giveaway winner based on favourite because I’d never be able to choose! Thanks so much for participating, everyone. There’s still a few hours left 🙂

divider

1/11
Number of books I’ve read today: parts of two
Total number of books I’ve read: three
Page count: 159 + 63 minutes
Books: Storm Front, The Archived

Live Update
Storm Front audiobook – 15 minutes (8:30am)
Storm Front audiobook – 40 minutes (4:20pm)
Storm Front audiobook – 8 minutes (9pm) FINISHED
The Archived – 159 pages (162-321, 10pm) FINISHED

divider

1/12
Number of books I’ve read today: part of one
Total number of books I’ve read: three
Page count: 15 pages
Books: Chasers

Live Update
Chasers – 15 pages (3:30pm)

divider

1/13
Number of books I’ve read today: two graphic novels
Total number of books I’ve read: 3 + 2 graphic novels
Page count: 280 pages
Books: The Walking Dead volumes 1 &2

OVERALL
Number of books read: 3 + 2 graphic novels
Final page count: 801
Hours listened: 4 hours and 8 minutes

So I didn’t quite make my goal of four books, but 3 and some graphic novels is pretty good by me! Can’t wait until the next Bout of Books 🙂

13 thoughts on “Bout of Books 6.0 Update Post

Comments are closed.