Top Ten Bookish Goals for 2013

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is bookish goals for 2013. You can join in at this post here.

I make goals and always seem to forget about them a few months into the year, so I’m going to keep mine fairly simple and straightforward (and not 10. That was too many).

1. Reach my goal of reading at least 60 books by December 31, 2013. I made this goal last year and beat it by 2 books – I want to do better this year, so while my goal is 60, I’m striving for 70 or more.

2. Read at least two purchased books a month. My TBR pile is about an even mix of review and purchased books, and the purchased ones get the back burner all the time. Not any more!

3. Finish my Teachable Moments for the touchstone books and then write and post Teachable Moments for the other children’s books I love to use in the classroom (like The Giving Tree and Harold and the Purple Crayon).

4. Complete the Debut Author Challenge 2013. I failed last year, reading only 9 debuts (though I have five others on my shelves). Not this year. Debuts are a priority!

5. Finish all my review e-books. There’s a reason I don’t usually accept e-books, and this is why. They get forgotten amongst all the physical books and then I feel guilty. So I’m aiming to get the 6 or so e-books I accepted for review read and reviews posted hopefully by the summer.

6. Reread a book or series! I need to unwind sometimes and visit old friends. I’m thinking the Song of the Lioness quartet, A Wrinkle in Time and The Second Son. Just lose myself in the familiar for a bit, probably if I find myself in a reading slump.

7. And because I just bought Storm Front by Jim Butcher on audiobook and am LOVING it (not least because it’s narrated by James Marsters. Though that is the reason I purchased it), I aim to read as much of the Dresden Files series as I can. Hopefully most on audiobook.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Bookish Goals for 2013

  1. I am right there with you on feeling unnecessary reading guilt. I have resolved to stop doing so this year, and not requesting anything at NetGalley would be a great start, now that I think about it…

    Thanks for sharing your list!

  2. I’m aiming for 50 books this year and yes! I need to finish up all the purchased books. Not that I don’t like ARCs, but they’re snatching all the love away from my poor purchased copies… Haha, hope we’ll come back to the post on 31 Dec 2013 and have fulfilled all these goals! 🙂

Comments are closed.