My Top Ten Romances in Books

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is out top ten romances in books. I’m going to cheat a little bit on number ten – friendship rather than romance. You can join in over at this post.

1. Meghan and Ash from The Iron King – forbidden romance is always the best kind!

2. Karou and Akiva from Daughter of Smoke and Bone – while technically not very romance-y at the moment, Karou and Akiva have a great back story and I have high hopes for their future. I can’t wait for book three.

3. Sam and Grace from Shiver – a slow, sweet insta-love. Does that even make sense? Slow insta-love? But it kind of is, and I love it.

4. Alex and Darla from Ashfall – a relationship forged in an apocalypse is tough and intense. Alex and Darla go through a lot, but survive together.

5. Amy and Elder from Across the Universe – I think Amy and Elder both make each other better people, and are strongest together. Talk about a romance that gets tested time and time again. But they soldier through it and come out stronger for it.

6. Mel and Kit from Team Human – snarky, hesitant and ultimately so cute. Mel and Kit’s romance doesn’t start off on the best foot, but turns into an awesome one.

7. Any of the Argeneau vampires and their significant others (Lynsay Sands’ Argeneau series – love this series! Paranormal romance that follows a family of vampires finding their one true loves. Sexy, humourous, fun and serious, these books have it all!

8. Ron and Hermione from Harry Potter – I’d pick Harry and Ginny, but I never really felt it. Ron and Hermione however, were hilarious. Ron was oblivious, both were nervous, but you knew they were meant to be.

9. Alex and Lena from Delirium – so much crazyness! I’m seeing a theme with my romance couples here. Lots of hardship to overcome in the course of their relationship, but so worth it.

10. Jesse and Leslie from Bridge to Terabithia – one of the best friendships I’ve read about in a young adult or middle grade book. I think if the characters had been older than fifth grade it may very well have been a great romance.

4 thoughts on “My Top Ten Romances in Books

  1. You know, I don’t know if I felt the whole Ginny Harry thing either. Not that I don’t think they should be together, but I wasn’t that invested in their relationship. That might be because we don’t see as much of Ginny as we do of both Ron and Hermione. I do love Ron and Hermione together. 🙂

    • Agreed that it’s probably because we see less of Ginny. I think I just accepted that Harry and Ginny would be together, because the Weasley family is Harry’s adopted family and by having Harry and Ginny together in the end, JK Rowling made Harry’s ties to the Weasleys legitimate, really. How could he have ended up with anyone but her? (Except maybe Hermione, which I wished for hard in the early books :P)

  2. I’ve read very few of these books, though I agree with you completely on Ron & Hermione and the kids in The Bridge to Terabithia. Now I’m wondering who would go on my list…

  3. Sadly, none of the romantic relationships in Harry Potter,/i> ever felt real to me, but I’ll grant that Hermione/Ron has a little more going for it than Harry/Ginny. I like Rowling’s portrayals of friendships much better.

    I didn’t even think of including Daughter of Smoke and Bone, but that’s a good one! I’m still looking forward to reading the second book at some point.

Comments are closed.