Top Ten Books I Recommend The Most

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the BookishThe Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is the ten books that you find yourself recommending the most when people ask. I’ve done a few of these for people before (check out my rec lists) so here I’ll just pick a mix of the books on those lists. Join in at this link.

1. Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling – because it’s Harry Potter.

2. The Giver by Lois Lowry – an amazing example of a dystopian novel. It has a great main character and so many details that you lose yourself in the book’s world. So many feelings!

3. Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson – best story of friendship, love, lose and childhood that I’ve read. So beautiful.

4. LAMB: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore – so funny. A hilarious look at the early life of Jesus from boyhood to death, through the eyes of an unknown apostle, Biff.

5. The Wayfarer Redemption series by Sara Douglass – an epic sprawl of a fantasy series that contains incredible world building, lore, battles, magic and characters.

6. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card – while I love this book (the sci-fi space games/battles, world-building, Ender, Bean), the sequels are intense. Politics, aliens, space travel. Very epic.

7. Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood – one of the best speculative fiction, post-apocalyptic, dystopian type novels I’ve read to date. The way the novel unfolds and the concepts within it are intense.

8. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – like Harry Potter, this one is a given for me. Love this series!

9. Dealing with Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede – I’ve read this series multiple times and think it’s the perfect fantasy for anyone. Humour, adventure, fairy tales and dragons – what more could you want?

10. Every Day by David Levithan – the newest book on this list, it’s one I’ve been recommending ever since I read it. And I’ll continue to. David Levithan’s writing is exquisite, and the subject so unique.

