Top Ten Books I’d Have to Save if Disaster Struck My House

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is a rewind – I get to pick a previous topic I hadn’t done yet (or revisit one that I had way more than ten books I could list). I decided to do the top ten books I’d have to save if my house caught fire, or fell apart in an earthquake or to quote the original post, was abducted by aliens! You can join in this week at this post.

1. The Second Son by Charles Sailor – while I do love this book, I would rescue it more for the sentiment. It was my mother’s copy, and as the book is long out of print would be harder to replace.

2. Books 2-4 of Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling – technically easily replaced, but my copies of books 2-4 are the UK versions and first editions. I would not want to lose them!

3. Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson – again easily replaced, but the cover I have is no longer being used and a bit harder to find (and I love the cover, and story of course, so much!).

4. The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan – bought the day it was published, this is yet another book I love and whose cover is no longer in print. Also, it’s now signed! I would definitely need to grab this one.

5. Logan’s Run by William F. Nolan – I adore my little black-covered, no dust jacket version of this book and couldn’t imagine leaving it behind. Bonus, it’s small and light weight!

6. The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan – sentimental reasons. Even though I never finished the series, I loved the first books. This series also brought me my best friend, and brought him to his husband. So many feels when it comes to this series.

7. Son by Lois Lowry – my ARC of Son would be in my hands so fast. This book was the icing on the cake to BEA last year and something I never thought would happen – I had thought the series long over.

8. Song of the Lioness quartet by Tamora Pearce – original covers and so many good memories. I couldn’t leave without this series in my pile.

9. The Enchanted Forest Chronicles by Patricia C. Wrede – for similar reasons as number 8. My copies are so well loved. They’d be hard to replace!

10. Elfquest graphic novels – no longer in print, and ridiculously expensive now for the DC volumes, these would not get left behind. Probably the first graphic novel/comic I ever read, just looking at them brings up vivid childhood memories.

