Top Ten Books I Liked Less/More Than I Thought I Would

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is books you liked more or less than you thought you thought you would. I’m splitting mine, five and five. For books I thought I’d like less, I mostly just mean books I had no real strong excitement for and ended up loving. For books I thought I’d like more, it’s those books I was so excited to read but fell a bit flat. You can join in at this post.

Books More

1. Earthseed by Pamela Sargent – space travel? Generation ship? New planet? Teens? Check. Thought I’d love it, but some of the writing and plot just didn’t so it for me.

2. Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes – I’d been seeing amazing reviews for this one and was crazy excited to read it. Unfortunately I ended up disliking most of the characters, and the writing was not my cup of tea.

3. Enchanted by Alethea Kontis – I liked this one well enough, just not as much as I thought I would. Great writing and characters, but I found parts to be a bit confusing and jumpy.

4. Matched by Ally Condie – one of my most anticipated reads back in 2010, and I didn’t love it. Oh I enjoyed it, enough to read the sequels, but I was disappointed in the world-building and I didn’t click with some characters.

5. Wither by Lauren DeStefano – while I love the writing style and the world-building, some plot aspects had me scratching my head and frustrated, so a book I had been dieing to read because of all the positive hype was a bit of a letdown.

Books Less2

6. Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver – assigned to me through a book battle to judge, I didn’t think I’d like it very much since I’m not usually a fan of contemporary. Was I wrong! I was bawling through parts and absolutely loved it.

7. Ashfall by Mike Mullin – I figured I would like this book (despite my fear of natural disasters) since it’s pretty post-apocalyptic, but I didn’t count on how much emotion it wring from me and how much I would love it.

8. Every Day by David Levithan – the premise sounded amazing, and I’ve always heard good things about Levithan’s writing. I was unprepared for how much I would fall in love with this book and want to make everyone I know read it.

9. All Good Children by Catherine Austen – a new-to-me book and author, I liked the sound of the premise of the book, and ended up in awe of the writing, message and world within.

10. I Heart You, You Haunt Me by Lisa Schroeder – despite my usual lack of interest in contemporary, this book sounded intriguing. I was even more worried when I found out it’s written in verse. But, I ended up loving it way more than I thought I would. I need more verse books in my life!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Liked Less/More Than I Thought I Would

  1. I totally agree with you about Wither (not a fan, never bought into the premise) and Ashfall-need book 2 soon! But I could not get into Every Day.

Comments are closed.