Top Ten Words or Topics That Will Make Me Pick Up A Book

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week the topic is words or topics that make you want to pick up a book to buy/borrow. It was fun wracking my brain to come up with ten! You can join in at this post.

1. Maps! Ok, not technically a word or topic, but fantasy books with maps always drag me in.

2. Zombies. Especially the past year or so. I just can’t seem to help myself.

3. Dystopia is a big draw for me. I love the possibilities dystopian books represent – so much to be explored!

4. Post-apocalypse is pretty even with dystopia for me. Give me the end of the world any day! But please leave some hope in there at the end – that’s the best part.

5. Space. Books in space have vast potential to explore brave new…ok, you know what I mean. Ones on colony ships are even more intriguing to me!

6. Mythology/ancient civilizations. I was a history major in my BA, but before that I wanted to be an Egyptologist, or something very similar. I absolutely am fascinated with the history of the ancient world and especially their religious systems and mythology (I even did a whole final paper on a brief history of the Roman conversion to Catholicism).

7. Reincarnation is a personal belief of mine, so any time I see a fiction book touch on this subject I’m immediately interested.

8. Time Travel! It usually makes my head hurt but when it’s done right I love it anyway. It can make my brain hurt any day.

9. Magic, but more in a high fantasy (with maps!) kind of way than an urban fantasy kind of way. The more unknown it is the better.

10. Hannah Moskowitz. While not strictly a word or topic, I will buy anything Hannah writes.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Words or Topics That Will Make Me Pick Up A Book

  1. Hurray for maps! I always know that it’s going to be the book for me when I see a map upon opening the inside cover. Zombies, space, time travel, and magic are also huge draws for me, too!

  2. Yours is only the second list I’ve seen with maps on it! I’ve always liked flicking back and forth to the maps in fantasy books.

Comments are closed.