Book Expo America 2013 Recap

IMG-20130530-00036 Welcome to Book Expo America 2013! I am finally home from spending an amazing five days in New York City and I’m exhausted – in the best way possible. I severely neglected my poor blog while I was away, although I had every intention of posting my review for For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund and updating daily about my time at BEA. That didn’t seem to happen, so I’m going to do a quick and dirty recap of my time in book heaven. (TL;DR – I had a blast guys! It was amazing.)

Tuesday
I was heading to BEA on my own this year, but at Christmas decided that Dad and I should chip in to bring my mother down to New York City – she has always wanted to see NYC and this seemed like the perfect time (it would keep me from having to pay my hotel room fully by myself as well!). So Mom and Dad joined me for Tuesday, Wednesday and Saturday afternoon while Thursday and Friday saw me being completely surrounded by all things bookish and good. So Tuesday! We arrived at Newark airport early, about 9am. After getting a cab, into the city, checked in and settled it was around lunch so we headed to Lindy’s Diner right next to the hotel. DSC02862 After lunch, we spent the rest of the day at The American Museum of Natural History and it was so amazing. After, we went to the Italian restaurant Joe G’s for supper and then down into Times Square (including stops at the M&M store and the Hershey Store.

Wednesday
After breakfast at Evergreen Diner we swung by the Javits center so I could get all checked in and not have to worry about that Thursday morning, then headed back up to midtown and some shopping at Anthropologie and J Crew where I found the cutest dresses, a skirt, and my first pair of white jeans! We did lunch at T.G.I.Fridays and then grabbed some small cakes from Fluffy’s Cafe & Bake Shop to eat in Central Park, where we walked around for a bit and enjoyed the nice warm day. At 7pm we are nice and cozy in the Gershwin Theatre watching Wicked and it was absolutely amazing. IMG-20130529-00030 My parents bought my ticket as a birthday present and it was so worth it getting my gift two months after my actual birthday – the music, performers, sets and everything was wonderful. After returning to the hotel we went downstairs for some drinks and I ate some sliders since I was fairly hungry.

Thursday
The beginning of my Book Expo America 2013 adventure! I was up bright and early to catch the 7am shuttle from the hotel to the Javits, and I was joined by Jen from Misbehavin’ Librarian and Jenn from Lost In A Great Book (so nice to see you again ladies!). At the Javits, we got in line with Terri from Read & Riot and Michele from Just a Lil’ Lost to wait for the conference floor to open at 9am. When it did, we immediately hit up IMG-20130531-00044Penguin and HarperCollins booths on our way to author signings. After that morning rush, I didn’t really see anyone again until we left around 3pm. I did meet a bunch of lovely bloggers while standing in ridiculously long (but worth it) lines, like Stephanie from ReadRinseRepeat, AnimeJune from Gossamer Obsessions and Hayley from Booking it with Hayley G (yay fellow Canadian!). There were others as well, but I forgot to grab cards: if you met me on Thursday, please let me know! (and likewise for Friday) I made it to a number of signings, and was so excited to meet Diana Peterfreund, Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner, Lauren Oliver, Kami Garcia, James Dashner and Oliver Jeffers.

After a crazy day filled with long lines, amazing people and so many squee-worthy books, I headed back to the hotel to get ready for the Scholastic event that night – a discussion with Suzanne Collins DSC02870and Walter Dean Meyers on writing war for young people (MCed by David Levithan!). It was such a great talk, followed by cocktails and a signing. I still can’t quite believe I got to meet and speak with Suzanne Collins. I’m kind of in awe of it, actually. After the Scholastic event I headed up to Union Square Barnes & Noble where a number of authors were talking and signing. I missed the talk, but arrived just in time for the signing! I was able to meet Rick Yancy (which saved me a line on Friday), Marie Lu and Andrea Cremer (who I had missed earlier at BEA). The first day at BEA was an immense success! DSC02869

Friday
Up early again for the Children’s Author Breakfast in the morning where I met up with Cecilia from The Adventures of Cecilia Bedelia and it was awesome. I am incredibly sad I didn’t remember to get pictures with any bloggers! Next time, right ladies? Because I also ran into Susan from Waste Paper Prose and we enjoyed many lines together, as well as Katelyn from Kate’s Tales of Books and Bands in the Harlequin Teen line (we just made the cut off!). I was able to get books signed by Jeff Hirsch, Kat Zhang, Holly Black, Julie Kagawa, Dawn Metcalf, Katie McGarry, Amanda Sun, Elizabeth Scott, Victoria Schwab, Brandon Sanderson and Lauren Myracle. IMG-20130531-00045I joined Jenn, Jen and Terri at the Random House Canada party that evening then went back to the hotel to sleep off a headache from the heat and exhaustion of the past two days. I was able to get a great sleep since I didn’t have to go to the Javits quite as early on Saturday morning.

Saturday
Last day of BEA and I was incredibly sad. I got to the Javits for 9am, where I went right to the Spencer Hill booth for a signing by Michelle Pickett, and then over to Alexandra Bracken’s line up where I spent the time chatting with Shanese from The Bo0ki3 and Sabrina from YA Bliss. DSC02881After that, I went to see D.J. Machale where I was surrounded by teachers in line and we had a great discussion. I ran into Terri and her mom who was extremely kind to stand in line for me for a galley drop that was at the same time as D.J. Machale’s signing (thank you, thank you!!) and then said my goodbyes when I again ran into them, Jenn and Jen on my way to the line for Cat Patrick and Suzanne Young (where I ended up being next to Katelyn again and we spent the wait chatting).

I left the Javits at noon, my BEA adventure done for another year! I met Mom and Dad at the High Line (which was beautiful) and then headed to Union Square to do some shopping, including The Strand. We had an amazing lunch at this place called Bread and Butter and when we got back to our hotel I ended up having an accidental nap (I only meant to close my eyes for a moment, I swear!). Olive Garden for supper and then back to pack and sleep, since we flew out at 8:30am this morning (Sunday).

And now I am back home, exhausted but still giddy and I have no idea what book to start first! Can’t wait for my next Book Expo!

3 thoughts on “Book Expo America 2013 Recap

Comments are closed.