Top Ten Books That Intimidate Me

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is about books that intimidate you, for any reason – length, seemingly universal love (or hate), expectations, etc. I’ve got a mix of all three of those reasons on my list today. You can join in at this post here.

Dragonflight 1. Dracula by Bram Stoker – I went though a phase where I loved vampire literature (still do to an extent) but I could never bring myself to read the classic, started it all novel. I’ve tried, but I’m terrified it’s going to disappoint me.

2. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – I’ve never read any Austen, but P&P is the one I’m most intimidated by. This book is a classic, highly praised. What if I just don’t see the appeal?

3. The Dragonriders of Pern by Anne McCaffery – my mother absolutely loves and adores these books, and ever since I was old enough for them she has asked me to read them. In the beginning, I refused because I had “better” things to read, and it was my mom recommending them. Now, I refuse just because I’m scared I won’t love them as much as she does.

4. The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood – Oryx and Crake is one of my all-time favourites. I was so excited when I saw the sequel and bought it immediately. But every time I pick it up to read it, I put it back down. What if it’s not as good as the first? Would it ruin my love for Oryx and Crake?

Looking for Alaska 5. Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell – I saw the movie and really enjoyed it, but every time I go to pick up the book in the bookstore, I put it back down. This book is large, guys. Long and small printed.

6. Looking for Alaska by John Green – John Green guys, John Green. I’m so nervous to start this one, like, what if I actually don’t like it?

7. 2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson – this one keeps staring at my from my bookshelves. I have started it, but I’m worried it’s going to go completely over my head with all it’s wonderful science, so I keep putting off finishing it.

8. Omnitopia Dawn by Diane Duane – her Young Wizards series is one of my comfort series of books, and I think I’m just nervous to read something different from the same author.

9. The Passage by Justin Cronin – a lengthy book with an epic storyline, it intimidates me. I don’t think I have enough time (or brain power left after the school year) to properly give this one a try.

10. The Dark Tower series by Stephen King – I have never read a Stephen King, mostly because myself and horror don’t mix. I’ve heard this series is not as horror fueled, though, but I’m still nervous to try.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That Intimidate Me

  1. Both The Passage and The Dark Tower are awesome books. The length intimidated me for The Passage, but it reads very quickly. It sucked me in and I never noticed the length. The Dark Tower I read as a teenager. It’s not horror driven at all, more like a fantasy adventure.

Comments are closed.