Top Ten Best And Worst Book To Movie Adaptations

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is top ten best and worst book to movie adaptations, which I admit I had a bit of a tough time with, since I seem to see a lot of movies based on books I haven’t actually read, so can’t compare. I split my list into five best and five worst, a mix of all age groups and genres. You can join in today at this post here.

Top Five Best Book to Movie Adaptations

1. Bridge to Terabithia (2007) – despite modernizing it and not going as in depth around Janice Avery’s role in the book, I absolutely loved this movie and felt they stayed very true to the feel and plot of the story.

2. Peter Pan (2003) – a live action rendition of Peter Pan, I adore this movie. Peter is wonderful – kind of self-absorbed but fun, as is Tink with her jealousy. Probably not the most accurate rendition, but fun none-the-less.

3. The Devil Wears Prada – while they changed a bit of the ending, it still stayed true to the point of it. I also quite enjoyed the rest of the movie and felt it played well off the book.

4. Blade Runner – based on Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? I found the movie gave an image to everything gritty and raw that I was picturing while reading the book. Of course there are some changes, but the overall feel and tone of the work is still there.

5. Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring/The Hobbit – since I’ve only read The Hobbit and the first LotR book, I can only mention those two (though I am highly assuming the other two were just as good). For such long books that they had to leave little parts and backstory out the movie, it was done very well!

Top Five Worst Book to Movie Adaptations

1. Ella Enchanted – I was entertained, but in this movie’s case, the book is 100 times better.

2. My Sister’s Keeper – up until a certain part, I loved this movie. I was crying, I was invested and it was great. And then they completely changed the entire ending and I was done. So done.

3. The Seeker: The Dark is Rising – again, I was entertained, but the movie lost a lot of what made the book(s) great. Especially since it’s based on the second book in the series, and disregards a lot of the connecting plots through the five books.

4. Eragon – it’s been a while since I’ve read the book and seen the movie, but I remember spending the entire movie being highly disappointed, and upset that they left out characters and had things changed.

5. Logan’s Run – ok, so I kind of absolutely love and adore this movie. But if we’re going to go with how true they stayed to the book? This was bad. Completely different from the book.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Best And Worst Book To Movie Adaptations

  1. I love the 2003 Peter Pan. I think it is the adaptation that got Barry’s point the best even if it isn’t 100% plot accurate.

    I forgot about Ella Enchanted! Oh my yes that needs to be on the worst list. I’m going back and adding it because I still have room on my list. I already added another movie I had seen somewhere else too. Thanks for the help! (I will credit you with the inspiration.) 🙂

    • The 2003 Peter Pan makes me all kinds of happy. I really enjoyed it. And you’re welcome! I had almost blocked Ella Enchanted completely from my brain, but saw it on the wikipedia list of books turned into movies and I remembered the badness of it =P

  2. Ugh, Ella Enchanted…that one made my “worst” list too. I love the book and it’s kinda painful how much they changed it when they made the movie. Which is not to say that the movie doesn’t have its own strengths, I suppose, but it should never have been billed as an adaptation of that book! It has a completely different storyline, practically the only thing the two have in common is the names of the characters.

Comments are closed.