Top Ten Best Beginnings/Endings of Books

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week the topic is best beginning, endings or both of books you’ve read. I chose both, five best beginnings and five best endings, of only YA books. I do quote the last line of each of the five books I picked for endings. I don’t feel they are particularly spoilery, but read with caution if you don’t like spoilers of any kind. You can join in at this post.

Five Favourite Beginnings

1. Awake and Dreaming by Kit Pearson – “The ghost was restless.”
A completely intriguing beginning of a ghost story that is so far from a ghost story it’s basically contemporary.

2. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater – “It is the first day of November and so, today, someone will die.”
The story laid out in this beginning is told in a haunting voice, immediately drawing you in and setting a vivid scene for the rest of the book.

3. So You Want to be a Wizard by Diane Duane – “Part of the problem, Nita thought as she tore desperately down Rose Avenue, is that I can’t keep my mouth shut.”
Funny, realistic and relatable, Nita is a wonderful narrator and her foray into magic is mesmerizing.

4. A Wrinkle In Time by Madeleine L’Engle – “It was a dark and stormy night.”
Attention grabbing, eerie and (while cliche) so true. This first line really sets the tone for the beginning of the book, and indeed the entirety of it.

5. The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan – “The pipe under the sink was leaking again. It wouldn’t have been so bad, except that Nick kept his favorite sword under the sink.”
One of the best sets of first two lines I can remember. Right away this intro lets you know the book is going to a mix of serious and funny, and aren’t you curious why Nick has a sword under the sink?

Five Favourite Endings

1. Half Lives by Sara Grant – “She has proven one person can change the future. Now it’s up to him.”
Bawling. I was bawling. This ending, and the revelations the character has is immense and heart wrenchingly sad but hopeful at the same time.

2. Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson – “There’s a rumor going around that the beautiful girl arriving today might be the queen they’ve been waiting for.”
Bittersweet. The first book I can remember crying at the end of, the wrap up of this book provides light and love after a tragic accident occurs.

3. The Last Vampire 6: Creatures of Forever by Christopher Pike – “He thought he would miss her forever.”
Again, I cried. I seem to like endings that I cry at. I did not see this ending coming, at all, and it was a shock. Especially when I’m so invested in the characters after six books.

4. The Giver by Lois Lowry – “Behind him, across fast distances of space and time, from the place he had left, he thought he heard music too. But perhaps it was only an echo.”
I was so happy at this ending, and so sad. Jonas and his journey could not have ended on any different note, and it solidified my love for this book.

5. This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers – “The dead girl presses her face against the glass. She waits for me to tell her what’s next.”
Creepy, eerie, horrific. A little bit hopeful. The end of this book is perfect for a zombie novel, in my opinion. A great tie-it-up but leave itcompletely open ending.

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Best Beginnings/Endings of Books

Comments are closed.