Top Ten Most Memorable Secondary Characters

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week the topic is most memorable secondary characters. I always have a hard time figuring out if someone is a secondary or second main character, but these are my ten! You can join in at this post.

1. Everyone in Harry Potter – honestly, I think I can name more secondary characters from Harry Potter than I can remember main characters from some books I’ve read. My favourites though are Tonks, Fred and George, Luna and McGonagall.

2. Noah from The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater – I love quiet, unassuming Noah. It helped that his storyline turned out crazy and awesome and sad and I can’t wait to see more of all the Raven Boys.

3. Zuzana from Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor – Zuz is crazy awesome. She’s the type of friend you can only wish for, and if you have that type of friend, hope you never lose her.

4. Chubs from The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken – Chubs brought the humour, the hope and the common sense. He’s an amazing secondary character and the book wouldn’t be the same without him.

5. Basil from Griffin Rising by Darby Karchut – while Basil could definitely be viewed as a secondary main character, I see these books as Griffin and Katie’s story, so Basil gets to join this list for being amazing and the coolest guardian one could ask for (angelic or human).

6. Tom from Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry – you could argue that Tom is kind of main characterish, I see this series as being Benny’s, and even Nix’s. But Tom is so awesome with the swords, the wisdom and the feels.

7. Orion from Across the Universe by Beth Revis – oh Orion. I liked to dislike you so. Crafty, manipulative, evil, not-evil…Orion is definitely memorable!

8. Marissa from Half Lives by Sara Grant – Marissa goes through a lot in this book, and he crazy cheerleader self takes a bit of a hit.

9. Mae from The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan – a secondary character who later in the series becomes a main character! Sometimes I love changing points of view.

10. Bean from Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card – another secondary character who gets his own book. And not only that, his whole series. The glimpses of Bean in the first book are great, but I really loved getting to know him more in the following books.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Most Memorable Secondary Characters

  1. Oh, I really love your list! Noah, Zuzana and Mae are some of my favorites as well (although none of them made it onto my list, heh).

  2. Aw, Bean. I hadn’t thought about him until now. Great choices. : ) I need to read his series and his book. I haven’t read past the first book in the original series.

    • His series is awesome, as are the continuations of Ender’s Game focusing on Ender. They get a lot more science-y and deep, but I love them to pieces.

Comments are closed.