Top Ten Books That I Wish Were Taught In Schools

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week you could pick one of two (very similar) topics, and I chose to do books that I wish were taught in schools. Now, I went through a fairly interesting Intensive English (AP English for other school districts, I suppose) course in high school – I never had to read Lord of the Flies, Grapes of Wrath, The Catcher in the Rye, Jane Austen or Bronte or any “normal” English curriculum books (though I did have to read To Kill A Mockingbird). Because of that, I decided to go with books aimed at the high school level even though I’m an elementary school teacher. Let’s just say this list is the top ten books I wish I had been taught in school! You can join in at this post.


1. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
2. Every Day by David Levithan


3. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak
4. Oryx & Crake by Margaret Atwood


5. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
6. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card


7. Forbidden City by William Bell
8. Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick


9. Invincible Summer by Hannah Moskowitz
10. Genesis by Bernard Beckett

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That I Wish Were Taught In Schools

Comments are closed.