Top Ten Books I Was “Forced” to Read

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week the topic is the top ten books I was ever “forced” to read, either through teachers, friends, book clubs or other bloggers. This list was hard to come up with! Most of mine are from required reading in classes, but a few are bloggers or friends. Also, I cheated with one play for number 10. You can join in at this post.

1. The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of her own Making by Catherynne M. Valente – bloggers, so many bloggers! So many bloggers whose opinions I trust when it comes to books raved about this one, and I just finally had to pick it up. I’m so glad I did!

2. The Giver by Lois Lowry – children’s lit prof. I am so glad I actually read this one and didn’t just skim it. I would have been missing something absolutely amazing.

3. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult – co-worker from when I worked at Coles (Indigo). She loved Jodi Picoult books and pretty much shoved this one into my hands and wouldn’t let me put it down. I’m glad, because I really enjoyed it.

4. The Five People you Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom – my mom. She loved this one and suggested (strongly) that I read it. I’m glad I took her advice!

5. Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood – I never would have picked up this book if it weren’t for my grade ten English teacher. Her lunch time book club was doing it and even though I couldn’t attend since I did yearbook at lunch, she gave it to me anyway and said I had to read it. Best book I was ever handed by a high school teacher.

6. Angus, Thongs and Full-frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison – friend, first year at university. It was in our Uni bookstore (probably for a children’s lit class) and when she saw me reading the back of it told me I needed to buy it since it was one of the funniest books she’d ever read. I agree – I was up until 2am laughing like crazy.

7. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley – science fiction and fantasy lit prof. One of the first books we read during the course, and it along with reading The Giver that same semester helped cement my love of dystopian lit.

8. Not Wanted on the Voyage by Timothy Findley – English teacher in high school, possibly grade ten? I can’t quite remember. I do remember loving this book and the crazy inside it and being thankful she put Timothy Findley into my hands.

9. Circus of the Damned by Laurell K. Hamilton – a friend in grade eleven. He owned the third book only in this series and after finding out I liked Buffy the Vampire Slayer, brought it to school and told me to read it. After, I immediately went to find books one and two. I’m now up to book twenty something. I guess I liked it!

10. Hamlet by Shakespeare – high school English. My favourite Shakespeare play. A friend and I actually had the “to be or not to be” soliloquy memorized at one point.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Was “Forced” to Read

  1. I still have to read The Girl Who Circumnavigated… It’s a series, though, right? Or am I confusing that with something else?

    The only book on your list I’ve read is Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging. I read a few of the others in the series because they were so funny, but I stopped reading them after awhile for some reason. They were good while I was into them, though! 😀

  2. I read Hamlet in high school for an English class, and memorizing the “to be or not to be” soliloquy was required. It turned out to be kind of fun, until we all had to say it one at a time in front of the class. Can you say public speaking fear?

Comments are closed.