YA Bloggers Best Overlooked Book Battle 2011

If you can remember, last year I participated in the Debut Book Battle hosted by Alyssa @ The Shady Glade. This year, the theme changed a bit while the concept stayed the same. Rather than debut books battling it out, we went with Best Overlooked Books! Check out Alyssa’s post for more information on how the battle works, and to keep up-to-date with the proceedings.

This year I was a round three judge for Bracket 21. The books that moved on to my bracket from brackets 17 and 18 were Stork by Wendy Delsol and Stravaganza: City of Masks by Mary Hoffman. Once again, I found myself trying to judge two books that couldn’t be more different, yet similar in how wonderful they are. But, along with my fellow judge Jillian @ Heise Reads & Recommends, we came to a decision fairly quickly. The book moving on is…

Stravaganza: City of Masks by Mary Hoffman

[this book] is full to the brim of the stuff that good stories are made out of – mystery, intrigue, royals, a hero, dimension hopping, alternate worlds, characters you can fall in love with and ones you want to be best friends with, amazing detail in the world-building and writing that just pulls you in and wrenches every emotion it can out of you.
– Me, from my review of the book.

See Jillian’s post for her reasons in choosing Stravaganza.

Please check out my review of Stork and give this amazing book some love. I wish they could have both continued on to the next round!

2 thoughts on “YA Bloggers Best Overlooked Book Battle 2011

  1. Hi there! New reader here, and I just wanted to say that I think it’s fantastic you guys are choosing to feature some really great books that were somehow overlooked and giving them some much-needed attention. Thank you guys for being awesome!

    Smiles!
    Lori

    • Hi Lori! Welcome, and thanks for stopping by 🙂 There are so many books floating around out there, that it isn’t surprising many great books get overlooked. I loved taking part in this Battle because now I have even more great books to look into!

Leave a comment