Once Upon a Readathon Day 1

Today was the first day of the read-a-thon being hosted by Lori @ Pure Imagination, Angel @ Reading Angel and Candace @ Candace’s Book Blog. Unfortunately, I didn’t get very much reading done today. This morning was split between worrying about why I couldn’t post to/update my blog, getting ready for work and getting some reading done.

I managed to get about halfway through two books: Zan-gah by Allan Richard Shickman and Prism by Faye Kellerman & Aliza Kellerman. I don’t really have any set books to read, I’m just going to try and get through as many of my TBRs as I can. However, I did manage to get entries done up for the mini-challenges!

My entry for Jenn @ Book Crazy:

Now, the book I was going to choose actually has a movie so the only songs I could think of were from the film. So I picked The Last Vampire by Christopher Pike, and the character of Sita. The song to go with it and her? Dust in the Wind by Kansas. It just fits Sita so well – she’s immortal, but wants nothing more than to go back to when she was mortal. She has seen 5000 years of history pass by, and nothing stays the same.

Lyrics:

I close my eyes, only for a moment, and the moment’s gone
All my dreams, pass before my eyes, a curiosity
Dust in the wind, all they are is dust in the wind
Same old song, just a drop of water in an endless sea
All we do, crumbles to the ground, though we refuse to see

Dust in the wind, All we are is dust in the wind
Don’t hang on, nothing lasts forever but the earth and sky
It slips away, all your money won’t another minute buy
Dust in the wind, All we are is dust in the wind

My entry for The Eager Readers:

We were tasked with listing out favourite fictional couples. Mine in no particular order –

Princess Cimorene and King Mendanbar from The Enchanted Forest Chronicles
Phoebe Olcott and Jem Morrissay from The Hollow Tree
Faraday and DragonStar SunSoar from The Wayfarer Redemption series
Sydelle Mirabil and Wayland North from Brightly Woven

Tomorrow I have the day off work, so I aim to finish my two books in the morning, and to start and finish (hopefully) two more.

4 thoughts on “Once Upon a Readathon Day 1

  1. I saw that you are a part of the Debut Author Challenge! That is so amazing that you are supporting debut authors and I only recently found out that I am going to be one!!! I wanted to ask if you wouldn’t mind heading over to my blog and giving me your opinion. As a blogger turned author I would really appreciate it and the publisher is still giving out ARCs so you might have a chance at a free copy! Thank you and I hope you will stop by and check out The Thirteenth Chime!

    Sincerely,
    Emma Michaels
    http://EmmaMichaels.Blogspot.com

    P.S.- My release date if Friday the 13th (August this year) isn’t that crazy?

  2. Sydelle and North are a wonderful couple! Great choice! Thank you so much for participating in our Favorite Couples mini challenge! Congrats on your win & thank you for returning my email so quickly. 🙂

Leave a comment